Start the Week Off Strong | At-Home Body Weight Cardio Circuit (My 1st Fitness Post!)

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Screen Shot 2018-02-26 at 6.09.53 PM.png

Happy Monday, Steemit friends!

I wanted to switch things up a little and post one of my favorite HIIT circuits for you all! Steemit has given me the courage to step out of my comfort zone and instead of just writing out the workout, I thought I would do it with you all and share a video! You will see that I struggle, laugh when I am in pain apparently, and get a little sweaty. Give this one a try! It’s perfect for all those busy bee girls and guys that sometimes find themselves with little time to workout. :)

The Workout: Body Weight Cardio Circuit

WHAT: 2 circuits with 4 exercises each. You will perform each exercise for 30 seconds and then rest for 30 seconds. After doing circuit 1 & 2, you will repeat once more.

TIME: 15 minutes

Circuit 1 (perform each exercise for 30 sec and rest for 30 in between):

  • Burpees
  • High Knees
  • Ice Skaters
  • Jump Lunges

Circuit 2 (perform each exercise for 30 sec and rest for 30 in between):

  • Jump Squats
  • Mountain Climbers
  • Speed Squats
  • Plank Jacks

This is a cardio body weight circuit which means you can do it anywhere – your living room, outside, or off to the side in the gym. No matter how many times I do this HIIT circuit, it KILLS me. This workout takes about 15 minutes, so put it in at the end of the workout or do it after work, but no excuses since I know everyone has at least 15 minutes to spare. ;)

This workout will target your whole body while helping you to get your blood pumping, strengthen your muscles, and burn a lot of cals.

In case you aren’t familiar with what HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) workouts, they are workouts that alternate between intense bursts of activity and then less-intense/or quick rests. I love them for a lot of reasons, but simply put, these are the biggest reasons why:

  • You will shed weight, but not lose muscle (I prefer this than the treadmill for cardio because of this reason. I get stronger when I do it.)
  • There is no equipment needed to get a good workout in
  • You increase your metabolism
  • They are quick (but effective and efficient) workouts so I have no excuse for not being active no matter how busy I find myself on any given day
  • HIIT burns a lot of calories

Important to Note: To really make the HIIT workout benefit you the most, you need to make sure that you are pushing yourself as hard as you can during the 30 seconds.

Watch the video to see each move and to work out alongside me! Below I have some key notes about each exercise.

Burpees

  • Stand with your feet hip distance apart and bring your palms to the floor.
  • Jump your feet back so that you are in high plank.
  • Make sure you are keeping your core tight and your hips lifted.
  • Now jump your feet to the outside of your hands and jump as high as you can!

High Knees

  • Start standing with feet hip distance apart.
  • Lift each knee as high as it will go and lift the opposite arm.

Ice Skaters

  • Begin in a standing position with your feet shoulder width apart.
  • Reach down and toward the outside of your right foot with your left hand and leap as far as you can when you take the strides.

Jump Lunges

• Starting standing with feet shoulder width apart.
• Jump your left leg forward and your right leg back and land in a lunge position.
• Then, switch legs each time you jump and go as fast as you can!

Jump Squats

• Stand with your feet slightly wider than hip distance apart.
• Bend your knees and sit your butt back.
• Make sure that as you go down and up that you are keeping your chest upright.
• After you squat, jump into the air.

Mountain Climbers

• Start in high plank and draw your right knee under your torso.
• Keep switching legs while going as fast as you can.
• Do as many as possible in 45 seconds.

Speed Squats

• Stand with your feet slightly wider than hip-distance apart.
• Bend your knees and sit your butt back, keeping your chest upright.
• Instead of jumping like the Jump Squats, go as fast as you can and fit as many squats in as you’re able to in 30 seconds.
• Make sure that you focus on form while also focusing on speed.

Plank Jacks

• Get in a high plank position.
• Keeping your core engaged, jump your feet out and in (like jumping jacks).

Hope you enjoy this workout!!

Feel free to follow me on Instagram to keep up with my day to day workouts on my Instagram stories.

Music by:

West Coast by Markvard @markvard
Music provided by Free Music for Vlogs youtu.be/j8dC_IDp91k


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I’m an ice skater so this helps.

Well the ice skater exercise is probably a move that you are definitely familiar with! :)

Nice post buddy. I am following your post everytime. Keep it up and waiting for more

Thank you! Happy you liked it. :)

A challenging work out. Great job:)

Thank you! Let me know if you give it a try and what you think of it. :)

I am studying karate at the moment. My sensei keeps me pretty motivated:)

You went above and beyond explaining each exercise, I think your steemit posts are going to kickass from now on :)

I appreciate the comment/compliment! & Welcome to Steemit!! :)

very nice post following

Thank you, I am happy you liked the post. Let me know if you try this workout!

lmao sorry in the middle of posting memes when you replied i had to :)

This circuit is killer!
Body weight HIIT is my go to 💪🏽

It freaking KILLED me lol HIIT circuits always do the job. :P I love strength training too and honestly didn't do cardio for a while, then changed my fitness game up significantly a while back to include more cardio and forms of cardio (like this) and it's amazing. Love a good sweat!

Circuit 2 is definitely a killer Jump squats and speed squats 2 mins apart!! Talk about it being brutal. Oh well like the motto says "train insane or remain the same!"

I did a circuit today that consisted of 5 rounds of":
Push ups
Single jumps
200 meter lap
American Kettle bell swings
Knee to chest (Pull up bar)

Was a great workout for me today.

Hahaha oh it KILLS my lower body everytime! But I like the burn :)

That's a great circuit. You hit everything and definitely a hard one! Happy Tuesday to ya!

Oh I bet it does sounds brutal! LOL

Thank I'm trying to implement a lot of cardio and work on my abs!!! :)

Good post! Is this workout effective for men, do you think?

Oh definitely! It's effective for everyone! It's nice as a cardio alternative since running on the treadmill can be 1.) hard on the knees and 2.) a little boring to do for long! HIIT helps me stay interested but also burn more calories than other cardio workouts do in a shorter amount of time. Give it a try!!

I really wish I could train at home,at least some days but I am addicted to the gym!It’s good that your workout can be done at the gym too😊👍

I feel you! I am addicted to the gym too! haha

Congratulations @theaudgirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48