"Hey Daddy, why is the sky blue?"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

One of my most favourite things to do that I can't do anymore is to hold my sons hand. When he was small I would drop him off and pick him up from school. Sometimes I'd put him on the crossbar of my bicycle, other times we'd walk with his little hand in mine. I always loved that time. He was, as most kids are, intensely curious about the world, and would constantly ask me questions about the people in his life and the world around him.


Most of the time I could answer his questions fairly easily. I'm not saying that I'm super intelligent or anything, but sometimes the questions of kids are very basic. "What is that man doing?", "Why does he want to cross the road?", What would happen if a bus hit him?" "Why are bus's so big", "Can you drive a bus?", "What would happen if no-one was driving the bus?", "Yeah but what would happen if the bus was still going and no-one was driving it?".


My son was very much into the "What if" scenarios. He asked hypothetical's about everything. "What would you do if a tidal wave came down the street?", "That's not likely to happen?", "Yeah but IF it did happen, what would you do?", "I'd swim to higher ground, "Yeah but what if you couldn't swim?". "I CAN swim!", "But what if you couldn't", "I'd grab onto something that's floats", "But what if there were no floaty things?", "I'd grab a lamp post!", "Yeah but what if the water was deeper than the lamp posts?". He would always counter each answer with another question until he had reached some arbitrary junction in his head that told him that he had gotten enough of an answer. He still does it to a certain extent, even though he's now nearly 27.



The question that really stumped me when he was 5 though was, "Why is the sky blue?". It was the first time I'd ever been asked that and when I thought about it I realised I didn't have an answer. I knew there was no way he was going to accept the "It just is!" answer, and also realised that I had probably been given that answer when I was a kid as I had no information as to why the sky was blue. As I said I loved the time we spent just walking and talking and I loved the questions because I knew I was helping him figure out the world. I always wanted to be able to give him a proper answer to his questions rather than the brush off answers, "It just is" or "because God made it that way" or some other inane comment that really just proves that the person answering either doesn't know or doesn't care. When he asked me why the sky was blue and I realised I didn't know I told him that I would go and find out. And so, I did.

The answer to "why is the sky blue?" is, because of the 'Tyndall effect'. It is named after the man who discovered the effect, John Tyndall. If you want to read a short biography then look here: http://www.rigb.org/our-history/people/t/john-tyndall

The 'Tyndall effect' is the effect sunlight has when it interacts with particles in the upper athmosphere. Basically the light is scattered by the particles and broken up into the different colour wavelengths. Our eyes more readily see the shorter wavelengths and hence perceive the sky as blue.
To read a more detailed explanation of the 'Tyndall effect' try here: http://www.rigb.org/our-history/iconic-objects/iconic-objects-list/tyndall-blue-sky

My son was happy enough with the information I gave him and even remembers why the sky is blue now that he's an adult. Hopefully you also have the enquiring mind of a 5 year old and this knowledge will help satisfy your curiosity!

All images are from https://pixabay.com/

Now you can safely answer that the reason the sky is blue is mostly due to an Irishman! Not ME, John Tyndall! ;)

Sort:  

I love your post! My son is at the stage now where he points to everything and makes me name it for him. I look forward to when he starts asking the “what if” and “why” questions. I just hope I will have the patience like you do.

I’m part of the #newbieresteemday initative. We’re a group of volunteers that want to help newbies succeed on here. Let’s see if I can help get more eyes on this page for you.

It’s wonderful your son still remembers your answer to why the sky is blue. Maybe he’ll pass it on to his children and it’ll become a family tradition. 🙂

Hi beeyou, thanks for the comment! :). I still miss those days immensely. Time really does fly by and it only seems like yesterday that he was pestering me with all of those questions. Enjoy every single one of them cos they get less and less as they get older. As long as you're willing to answer properly and know that you're helping to build his view of the world then you'll have the patience! :). I hope he will pass it onto his kids in time! :)
Thanks for the #newbieresteemday initiative, you're very kind! :)

I was hoping we could have gotten more eyes on this for you @theblackcrow. It really is a beautiful post and the love for your son shines through. I like the bits of humor in it too.

They do grow up fast. I swear it was just yesterday that I was holding my son’s small fingers. Now he’s his own little person and sometimes want nothing to do with mommy. Lol. I will remember this story when he begins to ask his questions and try to answer as best I can. Thank you for sharing.

I hope you continue to share great stories with us. All the best to you.

Thank you for trying beeyou, you're very good! I'm just glad that someone liked it. :). I've said it myself to others that time really does fly, especially as you get older. It only seems like yesterday to me too that I was holding his hand, now he's a grown man. I'm a great believer in the notion that if you put the time and effort in when they're kids they'll repay that time and effort back to you when they're older. Don't worry about your son having independance and sometimes wanting nothing to do with you, he'll always find his way back! :)

Thank you for trying beeyou, you're very good! I'm just glad that someone liked it. :). I've said it myself to others that time really does fly, especially as you get older. It only seems like yesterday to me too that I was holding his hand, now he's a grown man. I'm a great believer in the notion that if you put the time and effort in when they're kids they'll repay that time and effort back to you when they're older. Don't worry about your son having independence and sometimes wanting nothing to do with you, he'll always find his way back! :)

You really have to let me know when you share another great story. I'm not on here too often, and when I do come on, I never get a chance to make my rounds to all my favorite author's page. You're now one of them :)

I will take your advice to heart. I know the busy ways of life doesn't allow us to spend the quality time we want with our children anymore. And the years really do fly by. I will remember to put down my phone (no steemit) and spend as much time with them as possible.

btw, I'm glad you wrote about the Tyndall effect. You hinted at in on your intro post. :)

That's very nice of you to say I'm one of your favourites. :). I'll do my best to remind me to remind you! ;). I'm glad you liked both posts and I always try to keep my word, if I say I'll do something I do my utmost to get it done. :). Quality time doesn't have to be one on one conversations, it can be playing a video game together, or going to the shops together or any sort of activity where the two of you are present and interacting together, it's a lot easier to do than people realise. :)

We plan on taking our little brat out today for some quality family time. Brat since he has been throwing a terrible two’s tantrum all day. 🙂

I will remind myself to check on your blog in case you don’t have the chance to remind yourself to remind me. Hehe, we may have lost some readers there.

Have a great day!

Lol, we may have lost each other never mind other readers! ;). It doesn't feel like it when you're in the middle of the tantrums, but one day you'll miss them! Hope you had a great day out! :)

this is very very good... I love the way you tell the story and of course the story is about the beauty of a father and his son! @beeyou alerted me to it and I'm glad she did! Good job @theblackcrow! Very good post!

Thanks for the nice comment davemccoy and for the @originalworks tag. :)

You're welcome for the tag but for some reason they may be away or down. Usually they would upvote such a good post. You can keep them in mind when you have other posts. Its not a lot, but every little bit counts! I also sent it to @resteemable but they didn't show up either. I know they would love this, I'm not sure where they are either! lol... but the good thing is lots have seen in and its good (and nice).

Thanks again davemccoy! :). The gods of originality and resteemability have forsaken us in our hour of need! Still, we shall forge on! ;). I'm just glad that the people who have seen it liked it. :)

This is a beautifully written blog @theblackcrow Your love and dedication toward your son shines through clearly. Sometimes it is the very simple things that brings us most joy and creates the most poignant moments in our lives. Like, holding onto our children's hands as we walk alongside them, answering their simple and not so simple questions as best we can. Your son was a deep thinker from an early age and I'm sure he will always be grateful that you didn't fob him off with casual and disinterested replies. The cool thing about being a caring parent is, when we listen intently to what our children are saying or asking we learn valuable concepts and knowledge we may never have done otherwise. I've never heard of the "Tyndall Effect," so it looks like I am going to learn something new myself when I check out your link. Thank you for sharing these thoughts with us. (Following)

Thanks for your comment trudeehunter. :). I'm not so sure about my son being a deep thinker, more that he was psychotically curious! ;). I've always tried to give honest answers to kids, I believe you can talk to kids honestly and still try to keep them innocent as long as possible. I'm with you on the idea that in teaching our kids we can end up teaching ourselves. Glad I could share the knowledge! :)

That's a healthy combination @theblackcrow Being honest with our kids but at the same time preserving their innocence. It a fine balance. They grow up so quickly.

It definitely is a fine balance. My guiding philosophy has always been that you're an adult for a long time (hopefully) but you only have a short time being a child so we should try and let children stay children for as long as possible! :)

You've given me a weapon to prepare myself for my nephew. He haven't asked me this question before about the sky, but i have a very strong feeling that he would soon enough.
The guy is a very curious being. Loll

Glad I could pre-arm you for dealing with your nephew! ;). The curiosity of children is one of the greatest things about them. They enable you to look at the world in a completely new way. :)

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ... We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Slightly more than trivial...! It reminds me of a Ricky Lee song that stills me thoroughly every time again"That There."

I had a listen to the song and while I enjoyed it I couldn't make out much about the lyrics, so I looked them up. I can see now why my post reminded you of this song, the lyrics perfectly capture the questioning nature of a child. :)

thank you, that touched my heart. I feel the same love to your son as you do:) I am a parent as well and can very well remember some of the comments my son made when he was between 3 and 10. He now is a teenager, way younger than yours.

This never-ending "what if questions" I do know, too. Sometimes I think it is because of the answer points to death. And I guess I answered in this or that case I would be likely to die in that particular circumstance.

It is actually a pleasure to talk about death with kids. At a young age, they still are not afraid of it and unaffected by the adults fear.

The Tyndall explanation I must save for the next kids. They are on the way, my nephew just became a father.

Thank you for this lovley article!

I'm glad you liked it. :). I think you may have a point about the 'what if' questions pointing to death, or at least in that kind of direction. Kids have no fear of death because they consider themselves immortal, only old people die and they never realise they they too will be old someday. Glad to hear the 'Tyndall effect' will be passed on to the next generation! :)

Great post mate. Weirdly, I had forgotten why the sky is blue so this is very helpful.

I don’t have any kids of my own but my nephew is just like your son. I try to give him the most scientifically accurate answers possible and he responds really well to them. He’s a smart kid.

Thanks for the comment mazzle. :). I think kids respond well to proper answers, whether scientific or not and the more information you give them the more enthusiastic they become about the subject. Good luck with your nephew! :)

I think everybody who has children know these situations. My son now is 12 years old. And believe me, he is asking me so many questions And believe me, there are so many situations in which I cannot give him an answer because I have never asked myself that. Sometimes I wonder how he gets on such questions!
Kids are great! 😀

Thanks for the comment happy.food.life! :). I like the fact that children are able to show us a different view of the world or are able to have us question what we know. It keeps us all on our toes! Kids really are great! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70190.79
ETH 3740.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69