Airplane ~ A True Story

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-08-07 at 1.12.06 PM.png
Image

Last night I jumped on an airplane on a whim just before bed. That’s a little untrue really. What I did was try an experiment that I had tried in the past, but I just think I was much more ready for it this time around.

I decided that I would put my phone in Airplane mode before I closed my eyes for the night. I really needed a good night’s sleep because I had surgery last week and I am playing a gig today. Needless to say I really needed some sleep after not sleeping very well for nearly a week with tubes and such attached to me. Yes I did remove all of the medical contraptions on my own last night which was completely unauthorized. But. I don’t miss gigs. Not unless I died.

I was also going to have to drive into Toronto from Port Hope after a gig tomorrow just to get disconnected from my matrix hookups. So, a couple of youtube vids later and a deep breath and I am free again with no complications. I’ve been through more than a dozen of these surgeries so it’s a bit of a whatever now. New nurses who do my prep usually ask me if I’m ok during prep because I don’t even flinch anymore. It’s pretty painful but I don’t even react now I’m so used to it.

I remember a friend comforting his little girl before bed who was sobbing because she was so worried she was going to miss out. Her dad held her close and said ‘Oh sweetheart, the world will wait for you.’ She eventually settled in for the night but his point stuck with me.

As a wise four year old I could see she wasn’t entirely convinced but I kinda get it now. In many ways I’m not much different than a four year old who feels like he’s going to miss out when I go to sleep. I’ve come to realize that I have been so attuned to my cell phone that even the vibe can wake me out of a deep sleep.

It’s just another shackle for me to remove. I had such a peaceful sleep last night knowing that no messages, emails, panic alerts, nothing could get through. I have to make sure my wifi is off as well. I didn’t realize that I could have my phone in airplane mode and wifi mode at the same time until I started travelling to other countries.

I do watch a lot of youtube before I nod off to sleep but I might tackle that next and see if I can even charge my phone in another room when I’m sleeping. I also realized that I am just another statistic who reaches for his phone within 15 seconds of waking up. Or less.

So this is a huge red flag for me. Once I’m on the road full time and bvlogging on my @iNomad account, I will likely start to raise some further boundaries and let people who matter in my life know that I only answer emails twice a week on Tuesday and Thursday mornings. I intend to be free. I could just as easily have called my new journey 30 years a slave.

Trying to fit into a society bound and determined to pacify its populace by enslaving them with debt via homes, credit cards, lines of credit and every other scheme known to man. I intend to live debt free. By the time I’m too old to have a license I’ll likely be in a self driving RV by then too lol.

Enjoy this day, it’s the only one we have,
Bug

Sort:  

Este Post ha sido votado por delega, un pool de SP patrocinado por: @betamusic y @nnnarvaez para apoyar tu crecimiento y el contenido de calidad.



Un proyecto del Witness: @castellano (si quieres formar parte, contactales)

I love putting my phone on airplane mode. I actually live out of cell service, which is really nice. Yes, sleep is vital, and protecting your rest time is so important. Big hugs!

Thanks Katrina! How have you been?? Hope you're doing amazing! Big hugs to you too!

Be good, my friend...
....and Break a Leg at the Gig!

It went well brother, thanks very much for checking in on me. I truly had a great time. The highlight for me was one woman who kept her eyes closed for the entire show with a huge smile on her face mouthing the lyrics to every song I sang. What a treat!


Congratulations @thebugiq!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86