Do I Have a Steemit Future? (I'm Disheartened)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone, not feeling great...

... I'm actually feeling disheartened over Steemit


I was very lucky to somehow discover & gain some Steem early on. 

"Wonderful", I thought, "I'll contribute my curated videos, it's something I've always wanted to do on Reddit. I'll have a little brand going and get to talk about some great memories, start some fun conversations, and maybe even make some money!"

Well, as I type this I've had:

  • No attention or shits given to my brand (more on this in a bit)
  • I talked about a few memories, I guess a trip down memory lane is always nice.
  • I guess it was memory "lame" because; nope, no discussions or comments really
  • Finally, no money, I made 5 cents. Hey, maybe Steem will go to $1,000,000 and that 5 cents will buy me a house.

I'm starting to feel disheartened about this site and my future on it. I won't speak to the site as a whole or Steem as a currency because I quite like the idea, that's why I came here in the first place last year.

So, back to my brand, it must just suck. I'm not blaming you guys and gals for my failure. Maybe no one gives a shit about my YouTube favourites from 10 years ago. I just thought that if I liked it, someone else surely would.

Feel free not to upvote this if you have a lot of esteem on the site, I am (in a way) taking a dump on all your hard work because I'm a whiny failure at this. 

View my blog here and please, Let me know why I may have failed to catch the attention of the steemit.com user-base.

I'm not whining, I'd like some constructive criticism, I'm asking...

What did I do wrong?



Sort:  

You know... I saw this a few days ago and I closed the tab accidentally.

I actually made alot of my videos because I remembered reading this post.

I'm happy I found this again! I know my upvote won't do much (for the time being) but I'll follow you for sure.

That's awesome, honestly makes me feel good to know my flailing, mostly futile verbal diarrhea actually might not be so futile or crappy. Cheers! I generally post about 3 blogs/videos a week. I'm working my way through my extensive history of "liked" videos on YouTube.

I've been on YouTube for almost a decade so I have a lot of older videos people may not have seen before.

Hey @thegillos I am pretty new here so I am not the best to be giving advice but I suggest you just keep pushing forward. Keep your head up! You have some really great posts. I had a good laugh over your Excuse Me, Princess post. Just keeps posting and being you.
It is easy to look at someone successful and see how well their doing but what you might not be seeing is the failure leading up to their success they had to battle through. I know that is pretty cliched to say but you really do produce some great content and as steemit grows as a community like it has, you will start to get more and more people popping by checking out your blog. After all I just signed up a few days ago and here I am now!

When you mentioned Excuse Me, Princess, I had to check it out. It is funny. Same story with me, being new. I just found this on my feed list. So there is hope that posts from many months ago may resurface. I just posted a #funny that I thought would get a few laughs, but only a handful of people looked at it. I was a bit disappointed, too. But I am still steemin.

I'm watching your Summer Wine video now. Haha, your post wasn't what I thought.. maybe I'm ageist, but I wasn't expecting a literal granny cooking. I'm following you.

Keep on Steem'n!

Yep, that's me a little ole granny who just loves to cook, and laugh, and share some of what it cost me gray hairs to learn. Glad to have you follow me, and I am returning that vote of confidence. Together, we can get through this thing.

Thanks for your kind words. You've inspired me to do some more posts today (follow me, if you haven't already haha).

I guess that's the thing, scream into the void and hope that eventually someone hears your echo.

Congratulations @thegillos! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks Steemitboard.

If anyone who's running this sees this, feel free to leave a comment on what you think of my diatribe. Haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75