Sort:  

Wow, luckily it was resolved relatively peacefully... Looks like you live in Australia? Good job that it isn't a place that is awash with guns!

Yup in Australia mate. Definitely good he only had a knife and it went alright in the end.

Oh man, that's scary. At least it was resolved peacefully.

Reminds me of a few weeks back when I heard a bunch of sirens out our back entrance (my desk is located right next to our back sliding door) and we looked out and saw about a dozen cop cars with lights on and about six cops with high-powered rifles pointed at the ground walking around.

We heard later through a contact of my roommate's that a guy in the building behind us had stabbed someone and fled, so the cops were there trying to track him down and keep him from hurting anyone else. Unfortunately they never found him that we know of ):

Always scary when stuff like this happens and the police have to get involved.

Yeah it's crazy when these things happen, especially when it is so close to you!

Well that is just what you need, I crazy guy living right next door. Glad no one was hurt and I hope he gets the help he needs.

Well he isn't living 3 doors down anymore! So long as he is never back, then all is good.

My guess is 72 hours and he'll be back, I hope I am wrong for your sake though.

Wow! real-life journalism. And at last, news I can believe. Glad it turned out OK.

#steemitbloggers

Thanks mate. And yeah if I could've, I would've gotten pictures from the driveway, but the cops kept telling people to get inside and I had to make do with the front window and zooming in. Lucky it was only a knife and not a gun!

I am glad all's well that ended well. You suggest this is drug related, but the other incident, perhaps not? It is awful when someone is driven to such lengths. In South Africa, in the 1980s and 90s there was a spate of family murders where the murderer saw no other way of taking care of his family. Really sad.

The other dude - the wacko? Hope he gets help, too.

What do you mean the other incident? I know it was drug related as lots of others have told him he needs help and know he was always on some form of drug.

It's sad when people find they have to resort to violence and murder. Luckily Australia has strict gun laws to stop them easily becoming available for people like this.

The incident when you were 12? When you were not home? Did I misread?

In South Africa, the gun laws are strict, but there are so many illegal weapons... Doesn't bear thinking about.

Right sorry, tired. Not sure on that one but I don't think that guy for that incident was all that nice and trustworthy, so it may have been drug related, but may have just been a bad guy.

@thegoliath,

Just down the road, 3 houses away, the guy there had a knife and was going off his head and talking crazy etc.

He was probably a Steemit blogger. After spending 20 hours creating a bloody post, he watched it languish for a week with less than a $1.00 payout. He visited the Trending Page as saw some dufus getting a $1,000 payout for a picture of his ceiling fan. He cracked. This happens to me all the time. They have a straight-jacket with my name on it. I once wrote a poem called, "Padded Cell" ... they kept it as evidence.

Quill

Oh, this is the best comment I have read. EVER! I really did laugh out loud! Thanks for making my Monday @quillfire!

@fionasfavourites,

Always a pleasure, Madam. :-)

Quill

Haha! 100% accurate representation of the Steemit life.

I glad no one was injured during this. Reading through the comments, I saw multiple mentions similar to "It's good that the gun laws are strict so he didn't have a gun."

I'm torn on this one, being from the US where many value their guns more than their children. The common argument here is that if we had stricter gun laws, only criminals would have guns.

The other argument is that we NEED guns to protect us from other wackos like the 2 mentioned in this post.

What are your thoughts on strict gun laws in Australia, and what do your laws look like there? What do you think about the US's current stance on pretty much anyone being able to have pretty much any guns they want?

How often do you here about shootings/mass shootings in Australia, not that often at all. Criminals will always get guns no matter what but having laws in place allows stopping just anyone from easily getting it, having more accidental or purposely shootings, and not having the gun laws could've meant he easily had a gun instead and went around, shooting neighbours.

I have a 6 foot long Shaolin staff, so if this guy was trying to get into my house I would have the distance from the knife and can jam it into his throat. No gun needed.

I'm 100% picturing you with a Shaolin staff going all comic book style on some guy skulking around with a knife. It's pretty epic.

I really don't hear about mass shootings from anywhere other than the States, but I also believe that our culture has more to do with that than our gun laws. We are a fractured society with little regard for others in many ways. My viewpoint comes from within this place though, and I know our media tends to only show us things that promote whichever point of view they are pushing that week. It makes it hard to know how things are in other parts of the world.

For example, when a police officer kills a black male, it's splashed all over the news. People riot. When a police officer kills a while male (which happens much more frequently), it may make the back page of a print newspaper. So what I hear about is largely a filtered version of reality.

I wish I knew of a good solution to our gun problem. At this point, I don't think that simply taking guns away would do any good. Most people would just hide their guns. Any ideas?

Not really sure if much can help now. Everywhere in the world, people are becoming worse and worse as is society as a whole. We are in a continuous decline as humans and not enough people change or work on making change to see enough good overcome the bad.

I mostly agree with you. We may have passed the point of no return, particularly in the States regarding guns. That's a scary thought though - that it will just continue and/or get worse... People often talk about a collective consciousness shift. I think we'd have to have something like that happen in order to drastically reduce the number of shootings here.

Have you found out what happened initially to warrant the troops coming in?

It was a disturbance reported by one of the neighbours. So I am assume he was really shouting and swearing loudly, probably smashing things and someone may have seen him with the knife. My mum called me to tell and I was just sitting at my computer.

Ah, ok. Yeah, the act of brandishing knives while shouting is not very highly looked upon ;)

damn dog, shiz be crazy up in hurr these days huh? STRAYA!!!!

Seems like the government come closer and closer every day to take something away from us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97