Nostalgic Toys - Right in the childhood feels part #3

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Popeye/basketball card collecting


I remember when I was maybe around ten years old give or take a year or two and my brothers and I with dad's help, would collect cards to try get the set. We all had a lot of basketball cards of the different players, but my specific set were from the show Popeye. Below looks to be the packs I got and I remember opening those ones or it was something similar. It was basically all the characters and things the show had which I only watched some of, Tin Tin was one of my favourite childhood shows.

popeye cards.jpg
Image source

What the real bummer was in the end was that I think I only had one or two cards left to get and we were unable to find them. Either that or we completed and sold the set but anyway, it was a lot of fun being able to collect and store the cards in a folder, looking back onto it I miss collecting cards.

Basketball cards, now we had like a whole box full of them, duplicates and singles. Sorting through those took ages but fun to see all the different players, some fancier cards that weren't foil, but maybe silver or something shiny on the card.. Pretty sure they still have heaps of different trading cards for sports and other things but I would prefer the old school players compared to basketball today.

Dennis Rodman front of card

dennis rodman front.jpg
Image source

Dennis Rodman back of card

dennis rodman card back.jpg
Image source

There are so many memories from my childhood that I miss and wish I could relive as everything in this day and age isn't so simple with the technology being a part of nearly everything, the way the world is and the way people act based on the changes to society.

Sort:  

Congratulations @thegoliathv2! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thegoliathv2! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94