You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Don't Like Airports

in #life6 years ago

The security measures are a hassle for a lot of people. And they cost the taxpayers a lot more money than we otherwise spent on security. And they invade our privacy. But they've been sold to us as necessary to protect ourselves from bad people. I think there's something to be said for that, but it sure can be a pain.

I'm sorry you can't go to the gate with your wife anymore. I know what you mean about the difference between the comfort of being able to sit with them until it's time to leave, and trying to watch them go through security along with hundreds of other people. Hopefully she made it there safely and is having a great time. Hopefully you're enjoying your week of glorious return to Steemit (minus yesterday when it was down). Good luck in the League this week!

Sort:  

well, good luck to you. It's good to feel like I can do this again without worrying about what's happening or not happening while I am.

She did make it down safely, and as of last report, was basically talking and laughing up a storm until 8 am and 2 am in the morning. About what, don't ask me.

re: security

Definitely expensive, definitely invasive, not convinced they're necessary, I know they can be circumvented, and personally, I feel less safe and more like I could be the bad guy in the minds of others. If everyone's feeling like that about everyone else, that's more of a problem than it would be if no one was suspecting anyone, or better said, concerned that anyone might be. It doesn't take much for someone to do anything and all of sudden we get people shot and killed because they gestured wrong or zigged when they should have zagged.

I think I'm going to go ahead and pay the $85 bucks for the five year TSA precheck. We don't fly a lot, but we do fly enough, and maybe will increase it as time goes by, that it might actually be worth the total $170. There was no line for the precheck side and while you still have to go through security, you don't have to undress and unpack to do it.

I love being other places. I just don't enjoy getting there anymore, and I really resent the idea that myself, or anyone else, could be considered guilty until proven innocent. I get that there's really no way to know at a glance, but there are measures that can be taken behind the scenes that doesn't herd people through like cattle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92