You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Playing catch up

in #life6 years ago

Lovely post, and I enjoy learning about other cultures.
So many old traditions are lost these days it is refreshing to know that there are some dedicated people that still keep them alive and fresh. I hope you will continue this legacy!

Sort:  

I definitely will and I’ll be sharing images with more detailed explanations of our customs soon. I also hope that my younger relatives follow my lead because they’ve let me down so far. I was asking my younger cousins to help out and I got a lot of ”Sorry, don’t know how to do it” and they didn’t stick around for me to show them how it’s done. 😤

this happens, unfortunately. I lived in Canada, was very close to Native Americans (by marriage) and I seen the same thing: hardly any of the young people were interested - at least not the ones living in urban areas. There are some on the reservations, and also some at the Universities that are involved in Native American Studies, so not all hope is lost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87