The Canada Jay

in #life5 years ago
photo © Heather Johnsgaard

What’s there to do on the homestead in the dead cold of a mid-northern Canadian Winter?

Freezing temperatures in the minus twenties and thirties are not conducive to a very active outdoor life…. but that doesn’t stop the Whisky Jack!

Whisky Jacks make for some giggle worthy winter entertainment. They are fearless, curious, friendly and persistent and are always eager to take food from your hands or land on top of your head.




photo © Heather Johnsgaard

The food I leave for them disappears very quickly, sometimes with the help of our resident ravens, and both of these birds from the Corvidae family like to cache their food.

Jays mate for life or until one dies, and over the years we have acquired what seems to be a devoted couple and perhaps some of their offspring.

Each year as winter approaches, they start hanging around the feed stand, showing up every day at precisely the time I am out walking my dogs, twice a day....

...hungry little beggers!

photo © Heather Johnsgaard

More often than not, they will show up at the house and then follow me, flying from tree to tree as I make my rounds around the trail until I eventually stop and leave them some kibble and snacks which includes seeds and nuts.

Once spring comes, they seem to all but disappear, no doubt to raise their young. If we are lucky, they will bless us by bringing the youngsters around in late summer or early fall. It is such a beautiful sight to see the shy babies, as big as their parents, learning the ropes!

What’s in a name?

The name Whisky Jack is a variation of a word used in the Algonquin languages of eastern Canada and implies a transforming spirit who is mischievous and who likes to play tricks on people, definitely an excellent assessment of the Jay’s character.

Other names this scavenger has been come to be known as over the years includes Gray Jay and camp robber.

Most recently however, the Whisky Jack has been given back its official name of years past.


photo © Heather Johnsgaard

The Canada Jay
Perisoreus Canadensis

The process of assigning common names to species of birds by the American Ornithological Union (AOU) had changed over the years.

Basically history shows that the AOU had not followed their own naming rules, and a case was made by seven bird experts who submitted a proposal to the American Ornithological Society (in 2016 the AOU merged with the Cooper Ornithological Society to become the AOU) to have the name changed.

photo © Heather Johnsgaard

In May, 2018, it happened and the Gray Jay’s name was officially changed to its original name of Canada Jay.

Now, we just have to wait to see if the Canadian government decides to make it a national symbol.

Meanwhile, my family and I will continue to enjoy my winters in company of these comical little birds.

Sort:  

Lovely writeup on our Canada Jay!
I put black oil sunflower seeds out for the birds but the whiskey jack won't come for them. The only time they came around lots was when I had some fat or suet out - they love that!
I miss the Gray Jays but we have lots of Blue Jays!

I use black oil too for all the other birds... the Jays prefer kibbles, bread and nuts or other scraps... normally I don't like feeding bread to the birds but the Jays and Ravens are scavengers anyway, so they eat things we wouldn't think of. We don't have Blue Jays here, would love to, but it's too cold!

Thank you for introducing me to the Whiskey Jack! I have a cousin of that family who visits me every winter, the Stellars Jay. It looks a bit like the Blue Jays I was used to in Ohio having a REALLY bad hair day. They like to come to the window where my Goffin's Cockatoo sits and munch away on the leftover food that I put there from her cage. When they've gone through that pile, they yell at me until I come outside to give them more. Such fascinating creatures! I have heard stories about Whiskey Jack's migrating to my area during the winter, and now I'll have to keep an eye out for them, thanks to your article.

Your Stellars Jay sounds like quite the characters too! I love watching the birds, it is so calming!

Such pretty birds! It's so nice that you have something to entertain you!


Global Homestead Collective Come join us on discord! https://discord.gg/KCYH4JX7

What a wonderful post and photos! If you do more posts about birds use the #featheredfriday tag, so that other bird lovers can enjoy them, too!

Thanks @melinda010100, I didn’t know about the tags.... is it only for Fridays?

Glad you popped in!

You can use the tag any day of the week. @keithboone sponsors the challenge and you can post your link on one of his bird posts to get even more attention. It truly is a very nice post.

Thank you so much!

What an excellent post! Lovely photos, I'm so happy to see them. I didn't know about the naming of this bird - of the three names you mention, I like Whiskey Jack the best. I have just followed you, and voted and resteemed your post. I hope to see more of your work in the future, this is such a high quality post!

Awwww.... thanks @keithboone.... I am kind of biased towards Whiskey Jack too! I don’t know that I will ever call it the Canada Jay, lol.

I have a few pics of birds I will post sometime. Thanks for the vote and resteem, I am following you now too!

Thanks for stopping in. 😊

Congratulations @thistle-rock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97