Finding orca along the coastline in British Columbia.

in #life6 years ago

I do call them “Ninjas of the Whale World” for a reason. They are quite, they stalk and when they want to they can and will simply disappear. I have seen it too many times than I can count. For this reason, when it comes to searching for these animals - taking your time, not going high speed is a key feature for ensuring you scan a region thoroughly.

From the below photo you can see that they do in fact blend in very well to the coastal backdrop. A major reason to truly take your time when scouting the coastal areas is if they are in fact cruising that close to the coastline - they in fact hunting. As they are mammal hunters the main reason they will be there is for the potential chance of a ’snack’, which would be most probably a harbour seal, aka, rock sausage.


IMG_8786.jpg
Click image to view full size


How do you think you would go spotting these animals along the coastline of Vancouver Island?
Do you think it is easy to do?


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Sort:  

Found him. :p

Good attempt from your side...

Great pic @thomasjmitchell! How far would you say you were when you took it? I can imagine it must be hard to spot any sort of animal in the ocean!

Thanks! With that shot I believe I was a good 150m|450ft away from them. They turned and began to cruise in our direction, so I was shut down and just waited patiently to see if they would come over to investigate our vessel. They did :)

That's good stability over such distance. What do you mean with "shut down"? Is it dangerous/illegal to shoot from closer? Otherwise I would like to see the other pictures of them closer!

It is a term I use to mean the engines of the boat were turned off aka shut down. In Canada you must maintain a 100m distance from these animals at all times. I do have photos of them closer and if you check out some of my earlier posts there are a few. I also will be putting up more too - stay tuned

I will check your photos out and am following you so will see future posts..looking forward to it. Keep up the great work!

Thanks, mate! I shall do my best to keep them coming

Very nice post dear

Harbor seals = Rock Sausage.
My new favorite!

Do you get Northern Gray Seals in BC?

Its a term of endearment I use. We do not get Northern Gray seals around Vancouver Island.

We have Gray seals, and Harbor Seals.
We call 'em brunch, lunch or dinner depending on the time of day, and where the local white's are.
Mighty decent population of White Sharks on Cape Cod.

oh I could imagine! That is a sight I would very much like to see. One day I will make it over there

I really like you post

That's really amazing post @thomasjmitchell
Your NINJAS OF THE WHALE WORLD seem very clever 😂

They are incredibly smart - its almost scary how smart they really are

woahh you find it orca :D and get the pict ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66