how to almost ruin your camera & lens

in #life6 years ago

One thing that is a potential mishap when taking photos near water without the proper water proof equipment is to get your camera wet and then maybe destroyed. I figured whilst enjoying a stunning sunset I would get a little creative and try different perspectives and I got a few I thought were ok... I was definitely enjoying my time and little creative moment when I decide it would be great to get a little closer to the edge of the waves and get an angle looking up from near the sand. Things were going pretty great but didn't have a fast enough shutter speed to make the water movement more sharper but its a learning process.


IMG_0900.jpg

BUT THEN.....

I got a little too confident and... BOOM! I should know better than to turn my attention away from the beautifully unpredictable nature of the ocean and all her power. My first thought was "NNNNOOOOO!!!!", followed by the first words out of my mouth that went something like this - "Oh, no.. F%$K this Bulls^&t. Why am I so damn stupid, idiot. Please, do not be damaged. Please still work..." I think you get the picture of my current state of mind shortly after the even took place.


IMG_0901.jpg


However, all was well. I went back up and cleaned her up and double and triple checked her before attempting to turn her back on and take a few more photos. I dodged a serious bullet that evening. I definitely had an angel on my shoulder or Lady Luck decided it wasn't time for such a damaging even to occur.


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website new website too - Just BCOZ Photography


Sort:  

That first shot feels like the world on both sides is crashing in on the observer. I guess it was; at least from one side.... glad for happy endings :-)

it all worked out in the end, as it always does 😊

"Oh, no.. F%$K this Bulls^&t. Why am I so damn stupid, idiot. Please, do not be damaged. Please still work..."
Lol.... This is usually our responses when something we never envisaged occurred in the middle of our fun. We start getting angry at ourselves for not figuring out that such might occur. Such reaction is what my mum do call "medicine after death". Hope your camera wasn't damaged?

"Medicine after death" - that is really funny - I like how your mum thinks!

Lol... there's point in taking precaution from something once the harm had already been done.

This is very true. No, the camera seems to be working fine at the moment.

Good to know it's still in good condition. Next time you'll be more conscious of where you are. That is what sad experiences does. they make us more careful.

I actually think that the blurred waves gives the photo a nice touch! So happy your camera didn't got damaged

Thanks!! I appreciate the support and no it looks like the camera is working fine and still functioning properly

You've got and incredible shot! Thanks God your camera didn't damage, I know how expensive are those cameras and how much owners care them! I've a friend who is a photographer and his camera is his life, literally.

Thanks! I guess the photo is a big silver lining to the whole event BUT the camera seems to be fine and is working perfectly at the moment, which is good. I have another month of exploring this coastline of Colombia to go. Camera equipment ain't cheap and photographers do get attached to them a bit

The ocean is so unpredictable sometimes! Glad you still have a camera... and a good picture. haha

this is why I love it so much. Two days or even moments are ever the same.

Its'awesome

it's still a nice shot you've got

Thanks! a silver lining

Hi, I'm sorry about your camera. The effect of the photos seem very nice to me, even so you have managed to make a good photograph.

its ok - the camera seems to be working fine, which is great for me and happy bonus I got a cool photo out of it as well

Thank you very much. I'm glad your camera is fine

Whew! Glad the camera was okay. I recently had a problem with my long lens. It wouldn’t function. I found that taking it to a repair place would be an exorbitant cost. But, my tech-phenom son checked the diagnostics report and found it wasn’t communicating with the camera cpu. He reset it and fixed it for me.

wow! good to know. I am very glad it was ok as well. I am happy for you that you a techno savoy son to help you out with your camera issue

He’s brilliant at that kind of thing. In fact, this is the second time he fixed my camera. The first time, the camera had set for two years completely dead – we sought repair estimates but they ranged from $500 to $800; I only paid $650 for the camera new a three years before it broke. Anyway, my son opened it up, found the problems and repaired them. The camera has worked perfectly until the other day, when he fixed the problem again.

He also repaired his own iPad. The screen shattered. We ordered the replacement kit and he fixed it all on his own. He’s also cobbled together bits of old computers to build his own server system. And, he’s always bringing dead computers back to life for his friends at school.

Despite the problem, very good photo.

thanks, mate! I appreciate your kind words

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93