My office view in the Crystal Desert

in #life6 years ago

I have explored quite a bit of Australia and have worked many, many various jobs and as a result I have had the privilege of having a wide range of office views. From the dry desert of Uluru/Ayers Rock in the middle of Australia, the Daintree, the Great Barrier Reef, Rottnest Island, the coastal waters around Vancouver Island & of late the Crystal Desert that is also known as Antarctica.


IMG_6002.jpg
Click image to view full size


A lot of offices have their own views and I am well aware that most people in the working world do not have the view that I am able to enjoy. The simple size of icebergs are impressive and the first one everyone sees gets photographed about a million times and people lose their mind. At this point, they are somewhat unaware of what exactly they are going to be faced with shortly once we arrive at the peninsula. However, to really understand their size and even to correctly judge distances is incredibly difficult without a range finder.


IMG_5997.jpg
Click image to view full size


A clear example of this is the second photo. If you look closely you will see there is a very small iceberg in front of the huge, massive chunk of ice. There are tiny little black dots on top of this small iceberg, which are actually penguins. Lots and lots of Gentoo penguins. This kind of gives you bit of a reference to the actual size that some icebergs can be.
Impressed yet?


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website new website too - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

Gentoo penguins reach a height of 51 to 90 cm. They are the third-largest species of penguin after the emperor penguin and the king penguin.
Body weight: 4,9-8,5 kg (males), 4,5-8,2 kg (females).
They are the fastest underwater swimming penguins, reaching speeds of 36 km/h

Wonderful place and nice views!

I think you've got one of the best views in the world... I don't know about the cold but the view yes! How well do you cope with the cold? I'm glad you pointed out the small iceberg... I never saw that until you pointed it out, great reference for size! Amazing...

haha! The cold is one thing you just deal with - dress in warm layers with a waterproof outlayer and hope you are warm enough, if not, then put more layers on for next time

Hahaaa, I'm really not a big fan of the cold, I don't think I could do it. I'd have that many layers on I'd barely be able to move from them ; )

Very nice views

Nice office views.

My god! But your job is amazing, so you are working with the animals there? What is exactly what you do? This office view make me so curious! I think there must to be magical to live.

Wow! What a view!

What a view but I bet it's cold. Stay warm.

it is quite cold but you are definitely dressed for the weather when out there!

Ice berg dead a head!

So epic mate! Love that first shot! I would love to get down there.

Thanks! I hope you get the chance - I can't recommend it enough

Hey I came across an article on visiting Antarctic. Are these points true? If so wow sounds tough.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/men/active/11315994/Ten-things-no-one-tells-you-before-an-Antarctic-expedition.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97