Stranger - A Poem

in #life5 years ago

glenn-carstens-peters-120193-unsplash.jpg

I wrote this poem a while ago. It's purely based on my imagination.
Dive deep into the anxious serenity of my mind and do tell me what you make out of it 😉

Stranger

I stood there, at the front door
With hands too heavy to knock
It looked like it was timber
But felt like it was rock

I stood there, at the front door
And watched and watched and watched
The doorplate that read “Stranger!”
On a door that still was locked

A part of me was addled
A part of me was sad
A part of me in wonder
Why are these clouds so mad?

In all this introspection
I vividly started to see
That it might look like home
But not like home for me

I looked in through the window
And all I saw was dust
It gusted and then landed
A crust on top of crust

And then it started raining
As if the sky would melt
I knocked the door in haste
Still no voice could be felt

I knocked and knocked and knocked
In all my anxious frenzy
The door had still not opened
The house still won’t attend me

It made me lost and hopeless
I had no cause to stay
So I turned my back and walked
In distress and dismay

A moment passed or so,
I found myself submerged
In water, thoughts and fear
When the world I left reemerged

I heard a squeaking sound
The door was now being opened
My soul escaped in horror
I sighed and then was frozen

I could not see the door
But knew that someone held it
For me so I could enter
But I still could not help it

It made me scared and curious
I turned my back once more
To see who stood behind me
The stranger at that door

As I looked back in hurry
To see who lived this way
In a home so unfamiliar
In a place so far away

I came across a person
Who stopped me dead in tracks
My eyes came out of sockets
And made my core collapse

I still do not believe
The things that I did see
That home, that door, that person
For that stranger was me!

Note:

Do consider following me if you like my posts. Also, any criticism, opinions or comments will be appreciated.

@translogicalguy

Sort:  

Hehhee interesting ending! The poem pulled me deeper and deeper! Hehehe I really wanted to know who was behind that door.

Then after I found out who it was... I thought hmmmmm how would I have reacted? Lol

Feeling g horror? Or a strange comfort?

Maybe both! LOLOL

I need to introduce you to @mariannewest. I'm actually going to see her today (in real life) hehhee but I wonder if you'd enjoy her freewritehouse!

I'll tell you more when I get back later today :)

Haha it’s not meant to be scary 😂 😂 But thanks ♥️ And yeah I’d love to know more when you get back later 😛

I'm not super into poetry, @translogicalguy, but I thought that was excellent! Long about 3/4 of the way down I started becoming suspicious of who this was...sure enough!!!
Nice work, Sir!

Haha It was supposed to be a mystery. Your suspicion just validated my work thanksssss 😭

This is an amazing poem, well done! It was very interesting and I couldn't stop reading it. I hope you write and publish more of your poems here.

So @translogicalguy is seems like you are missing in action, are you going to come back after a haitus or are you done with steem?
I actually liked your poem, and I thought you should write some more.
Whatever you are doing, I wish you the best, friend

Congratulations @translogicalguy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31