The apolitical lesson from the 2016 elections and the Mueller Report - spend your valuable time doing other things

in #life5 years ago

Looking back at the 2016 elections, I have one regret. I spent too much time reading about them ahead of time. The media missed the big story - Trump's win. Only FiveThirtyEight got it right - Trump had a 30% or so chance of winning and he did. How many articles did we read during the summer of 2016 where pundits on both sides wrote about nonsense innuendo - "Trump won't concede", stories of Hillary's email server (whatever mistakes she and her staff made, it was a boring story).



Then there was the Mueller Report. Media on both sides wrote and produced a ton of content for and against. The Manafort part was interesting, but I don't think most people care about how a billionaire pays or doesn't pay people to keep private things private.

I can't be the only person who isn't interested in Trump, Obama or the Clinton's personal lives. Don't want to know about their taxes or what goes on in the bedroom. I also wish the First Family health, happiness and as much privacy as they can get. I do like that the current First Lady has a high regard for her privacy - and I also thought Michelle Obama was a class act and a great role model.

Remember the build up to the Mueller Report release? The media have every right - and even a responsibility - to cover the dark side of politics. But I also have a right to not pay attention to stories that will "blow away in the wind".

Next elections, I will avoid reading much about them until election night!

The media is full of noise. Call me when there's an impeachment - until then, I'll stick to my hobbies.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @treasurebeach! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66