When a child chooses to be sneaky and get you tensed!!!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

My name is Winnie!!! What's all this hullabaloo!!! It was the sound of my eldest sister @farida's mummy's voice. That's her usual way of getting their attention when she comes around our house because it's close to her's. After lightening up the environment with great joy, Enyo slept off and so did his dad too. Winnie the great came around while i and my big sister were discussing happilly as we usually do. The little angel told me 'mummy, Enyo is sleeping and daddy is sleeping too'. My reply was 'lie beside daddy and sleep' because it was about 9pm and when we were kids, we were taught that good children sleep at 9.

Discipline

Winnie decided to try out some mischief as the highly inquisitive child that she is. My 'African Queen, Black beauty, Super star, Little Prof as i usually call her, sneaked into the bedroom because she's usually not afraid of been alone. Gbaaaaa, it was the sound of the large mirror that got broken along with the flask that was given to me by my beloved mother-in-law when i gave birth to her (Winnie).
Pheeeewwww, my sister moved with speed into the room screeming 'Winnie' and my husband @eugenecr7 who was sleeping, woke up and followed; my niece and nephew ran there too. I kept calm, took a deep breath for about fifteen seconds, so that i don't get angry or worked up because i have been feeling ill and then i joined them.
When i saw what had happened and my big sister had quickly rescued Lady Winnie who was experimenting or doing God knows what in the bedroom. She instructed her kids to get the broom and started sweeping the pieces of glass that were splashed all over the room.
Winifred 'i spoke with a stern voice, leave here nowwww'. My girl knew she had wronged mummy and took off immediately. In less than 5 minutes from then, while i and Farida were carrying out the mirror frame so that nobody will get hurt, my sister followed behind with the pieces of broken glass in a bag and we all noticed that the same Winnie who refused to sleep about 20minutes before then, had slept off quietly.
Parenting indeed is not an easy task. It took the immediate intervention of my big sister to calm me down when i said 'Winnie whyyy, why did you break the flask that mummy(my mother-in-law) gave me?' My sister asked me a simple question 'what would you have done if the glass had fallen on her and blood was gushing? You would have been on your way to the hospital tonight! It was then it dawned on me that it could easily have fallen on Enyo who loves sleeping around there too and i would have been with both kids on my way to the hospital.
When i called @maryfavour my elder sister, she said the same thing 'Mummy Farida' had said and added that we would still have replaced the mirror and had the additional task of nursing the pain of the injuries that would have resulted from the ugly scene.
Since i took the wooden frame out to avoid anyone getting injured from the pieces of glass left in it, i had to go out very early this morning to clean up the frame by removing the glasses and then i took the frame into the house so that nobody will mistake it for a junk.

Trying to bring out the frame from the bush

IMG_20180303_073726.jpg

Cleaning up the frame

IMG_20180303_073855.jpg

Still removing the glasses from the frame

  • Please note that all the content and pictures in this post are mine and snap shots were taken with my infinix note 4 pro except the first picture (thumbnail) which has been referenced accordingly i.e from Shutterstock*.

If you were Winnie's parents, what will you do?

Why will you do what you chose to do?

How do you counsel the child for future sake?

If it was just you and the child, no one around to assist with getting the mess cleaned up, how will you feel?

Your contributions and comments will be of great help

Please upvote, comment, resteem and follow @trendyevents

Thanks for visiting my blog

Sort:  

I am very impressed with your story, about the past life, the education of children who are so organized, there may be little obstacles and barriers in learning to teach in the discipline of the family, as a lesson in practicing patience. I love reading your post @trendyevents

You are very right dear. Parenting is not an easy task at all. We must learn to act calmly otherwise we will do more harm than good.

Hummm...... It happens sometimes..... She might just want to play with it and never know it will get broken but am sure she has learn her lesson now so such won't repeat itself. There are some times we try to teach children but the get to learn in an hard way. Maami motherhood no be small thing o...... I can't wait to come and have a taste too

That kain taste ehn, u need sufficient grace ooo.

Nice post,keep motivate us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65821.61
ETH 3008.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74