Quoteswithtam #19 ~ Indifference

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The opposite of love is not hate, it's indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it's indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it's indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it's indifference. ~ Ellie Wiesel

image.jpeg

Imagine a life filled with indifference. You don't care about the people around you, about yourself and about your future, about anything, really. Doesn't that sound horrible? That doesn't sound like a life lived in depression.

Now imagine loving things and hating things, believing in one thing and not trusting in another. That's normal. Everyone feels positive vibes and negative vibes, and if you hate someone, for instance, you still care about that person or else you wouldn't be so invested in their life.

This quote always reminds me to FEEL, to LIVE and to make the best of life's ups and downs. Be active about how you want to shape your life, say what you want or not want but don't say I don't care.

Especially for me as a very indecisive person, this is hard.

I don't want to make a decision that someone else won't like, so I let them make the decision. But this is my life and saying no to something someone else wants is perfectly healthy and much better than saying nothing at all.


I've been super busy and still am until Easter, so there's not a lot of time to post.

But wishing you all a happy weekend!


Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By <@316595664467263492>

Sort:  

I know what you mean being indecisive, sometimes I really battle to make up my mind and go between options forever. In the end I try to always go with that first thought I had before my mind and emotions started affecting me.

Yeah, I guess it's always the best to go with that first thought! Thanks for your support :)

So good @tripswithtam! I do think we should be powerful to say what we want, what we think and I don't care is one phrase that definitely jeopardizes any relationship. From where I am, I actually think it is a very rude and yet ignorant phrase, selfish too. Besides it also shows how defensive one is, actually, so scared of getting hurt that he or she has to close up everything and still hurting others. What a sad way to live. So a world with indifference is a cold world and it makes people powerless. Such good reminder from you.

It's so true what you said about that phrase showing how defensive one is. Relationships should be all about openness and being able to say how you feel/what you want. Saying that you don't care means you don't trust that person with your feelings, which is really sad. Thank you for the insight :)

Congratulations @tripswithtam! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

your post is so deep

Congratulations @tripswithtam! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48