Returning Home And You're Not There!

in #life5 years ago

IMG_20190606_002015_254.jpg

I am travelling back to Ireland tomorrow , the first time since my sister passed away. I can not imagine being there and not seeing her. Living over here, it is easy to imagine that nothing has changed, that all is as it was. I was with her when she took her last breath, I do know, but I have not had to really confront her absence from my life.

This all changes tomorrow. I have such mixed feelings about returning, on the one hand I long to visit the places that she loved and to share all my memories with family. No one really knew her, where I live now, and I want to reminisce, to laugh and cry and celebrate with those who loved her as deeply as I do.

I also know it will be so emotional and real and raw, that my grief will be overwhelming once again. I attended a wedding a few weeks ago, a friend of mine got married and it was a beautiful celebration of love. The bride's younger sister, spoke at the handfasting and she talked about how her sister had impacted her life and how much love she had for her. I was in tears, hearing of this sisterly bond that so reflected my own and also how I should have been doing that speech for my sister.

She had wanted to marry her partner and had planned to do so this year, but it was not to be. In the end she was cremated in the dress she chose to wear on the day. A dress that was 10 times too big for her, because when her time came she was skin and bones. How very unfair her faith has been.

I still really struggle with the injustice of it all. My sister spend her life looking after others, putting everyone before herself. She tried so hard to mask her pain, right up until the end. Until she was unable to communicate with us any more. I remember her making a comment about me losing weight and telling me to look after myself more, while she lay bed ridden, her body now like a skeleton. That was my sister, she never complained, she just blew us all away with her strength and compassion.

Yet she really suffered, it broke my heart to witness what she had to go through, it was so fucking unfair.

So tomorrow, tomorrow I return to my family home, to the home I grew up in with my sister. I go home to face the reality of her not being there. Of not hearing her laugh, not singing with her, not dancing with her. I am so scared of what that will feel like, of that huge emptiness entering my life once again. I know I can fill it with the love I have for her, that grief in itself is another way in which we love. But that doesn't stop it from hurting so fucking much!


8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp




DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

Oh, I'm sending you good vibes so you can face a good emotional journey.

I understand how you feel, having experienced it recently too: matter conditions our senses and impresses our memory, but now your sister is pure light and she is happy in her sat cit ananda state!

A warm hug!
$trdo

Congratulations @amico, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @trucklife-family!
@trucklife-family got 6 TRDO & @amico got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I will be there with you. I wish you love, peace, rest and above all, joy.

I will be there with
You. I wish you love, peace, rest
And above all, joy.

                 - owasco


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Except I said it better than a bot. Bots should not write haiku, it's an affront to the art form.

So here's just a little poem for you:

Carry the hopes
all the others
have for you

yes you did, thank you for my poem xx

thank you so much @owasco xx

I embrace your heart with mine to give you a little protection against the rawness to come. I'm sure it'll be comforting to feel her presence too, as worried as you are about it. Big hugs. Love that photo of the two of you - the love between you is clear to see. xx

thank you beautiful, for all your support and for helping me so much through my grief, much love to you xx

@trucklife-family It is so difficult to return to a reality that is not the same as a day ago, a month or a year ago, because everything has changed.
Generally we hope that everything will always remain the same, sometimes we long for our parents and siblings to live an eternity, but we do not realize that every second is unique and that every day that passes is a day less in the life of someone we love.
I want you to have the strength to overcome each new change in your life and the courage to accept everything, she now rests, I wish you strength in this moment.
I send you a big hug from Venezuela.

thank you @fundakantoria for your wonderful words of support xxx

I send you love and strength <3

But you must know that she WILL be there. She will ALWAYS be there. Just close your eyes and connect. Sending love. XOXO. Sorry for your pain.

I do know, but it is a hard thing to let go of the physical presence, thank you @kindredacres xx

I totally understand. Sending warm vibes your way. XOXO

Awe @trucklie-family! I feel so much for you! How incredibly hard it will be to have your grief resurface again! Thankful that you have the rest of your loving family there to comfort each other! Take care and I do hope you find some joy once again in your family home! Hugs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99