Mindfulness Monday - A stoic mind and a bleeding heart

in #life6 years ago

Happy Monday Steemians!! As always, I hope the last week has seen you well. This morning when I had sat down to start my post, I had a clear mind of what I wanted to post on. Then work got busy and I couldn't get a spare moment to come back to it. Of course, I didn't actually get the the point prior to getting busy. So many subjects are actually coming to mind. I think since this has come up a few times we'd do a brief rundown on Stoicism. A few people have mentioned that the philosophy is similar. So let's take a look to see what the similarities are.

77zb3cv473.png

Stoicism is also an ancient practice that has shown promise in the modern world as a form of emotional management. It is based on 4 virtues of life. You live to be virtuous and through this process you will attain happiness. Your judgements will be rational based rather than emotional. Your actions speak louder than words. The understanding that we cannot control external events. That we are in control of how we react.

The 4 virtues of Stoicism are Wisdom, Courage, Justice and Temperance. Through the ancient teachings each of these virtues are goddess based, that each one of these virtues is the personification of the spirit. That to live by these virtues with control of your emotions will lead you to a path of happiness.

Granted the definition of stoicism to endure pain and hardship without a display of emotions or complaint. Yet the practice itself just simply stated control of emotion. I doesn't say anything about not having a display of emotion. From what I am coming to understand is while the definition of stoicism is one thing, the practice of Stoicism is not the embodiment of the definition.

I did find an interesting video I found on YouTube that I will put the link in for, because it gives a much more thorough explanation. I know this is very basic. Let me know what you think. If we need to go more in depth please let me know. I'll do some more reading.

77zb3cv473.png


77zb3cv473.png

Sources:
Modern Stoicism
Stoicism: A Practical Philosophy You Can Actually Use



Pay It Forward Contests

Asapers.gif
ASAP'ers


[SB-Marvel-Family.gif] www.steemit.com/@steemitbloggers



3esw6fdctc.jpg
Steemitcentral


Picture_20180513_211411075.jpg
Dustsweeper



banner

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)


Thank you for your continued support, Love

tryskele (1).gif

Sort:  

Your english is better than mine 😊

LOL!! 💜💜

That was a good video. I try to live my life this way. Yet I didn't really know where this kind of thought was coming from. So this was good to read. I was just taught this by my grandfather.

I have watched the video a few times. One of the first people that commented when I started this had commented about Stoicism about how similar it was. Our conversation was about how the goal of Mindfulness was to be detached. In ancient practices it was in a way, but with the therapeutic practice I refer to does not.
To be honest my mom is a Stoic. I guess since she thought she what she was teaching me was ok. I ended up overly emotional, unable to control many aspects of my emotions. Anger has been the worst.

I not sure how I did it but I have closed off my emotional responses to almost everything. Expect my sports teams they break my heart haha. But I drive logic into my other actions.

Is ok to remind of Monday. Inspiration of Tuesday is in h head.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it is!!

I have always heard the word stoicism and never knew what it meant. Thanks for the explanation. I like what it represents.

You're welcome @hezziebees. I like the philosophy and I can see where it would be a huge benefit.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

In my opinion Wisdom, Courage, Justice and Temperance are the foundations of life. It's a discipline one easies into as it becomes second nature, one should hope...

Thank You for posting.

I completely agree @lady-idra. I really thought about this part last night after I did the post and this portion is how I try to live. I have found it makes a profound difference.

I love the writings Marcus Aurelius, Epctitus and Seneca!

Namaste, JaiChai

@jaichai you gave me one I have to admit I have not come across yet Epictetus. I know I briefly saw his name in the research that I did, but have not actually read his writings. I'll have to check him out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86