Some contemporary Maine culture for yah.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

noheaddude.jpg

Missing my home state in this hot LA weather; I have started looking up media related to Maine. There are so many TV shows and movies set there; but very few are shot in Maine and few of the actors talk like real Mainers. I feel as if people are missing an important aspect of the character of Maine; the real accents and ways of the people that will be lost as invaders come up from the south and eat all the locals.

Looking around on youtube; I found some gems. The first one; "Temp Tales" is a hilarious series of animated cartoons based on the lives of "caretakers" in Midcoast Maine. The word play and situations are hilarious and engaging; full of the harsh but witty banter I remember from my childhood from family and friends. It is done in a style resembly "South Park" and "Family Guy"; but was actually based on an old anime the main animator, Hanji O'chang is a fan of. It is written and voice by her husband, Atom; and the characters and atmosphere are spot on.

"Temp Tales" also has a great soundtack; with a lot of music by the "Mallet Brothers" band; also from Maine. They compose country rock tunes and gorgeous rewrites of old Maine folk songs like this one below "The Falling of the Pine"

On a playlist they were on I found some other great Maine musicians. Like " The Ghosts of Paul Revere" and their "Holler Folk".

I also found Aborea's beautiful ethereal music

This reminded me of a great band I saw in Maine a few times live, Phantom Buffalo. Below is a bandcamp link to one of my favorite songs of all time.
https://phantombuffalo.bandcamp.com/track/through-the-grass-and-pines

Looking for youtube videos for Phantom Buffalo I found "The Entertainment Experiment" which features "Ragged Isle" and "O'chang Comics" among other creators. I am going to pop some popcorn and have a viewing party later.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCHpV2yeIygHNWIfH8mJaFNQ

Back on youtube; I was looking for Maine tv shows and found this great promo for "Down East Dickering"


Going to buy that show sometime; I miss that witty banter. You would think there would be more comedians from Maine with all the jokes people spit out. Speaking of which; my brother recently told me about this Maine comedian "Bob Marly"

You can also see an echo of Maine's comedic bent in the "alternative" news site "NewMaineNews" ; link

Not sure if anyone will even look at this; but I am thinking there will definately be a part 2 as it was so much fun to research. Take care steemit; hope you make your way to Maine someday.

bigboat (2).jpg

Sort:  

Oh you remind me of the old good days. Especially the Mallet... The country side musicians.

The last image looks like pirate ship.

A Spanish Galleon for one of the "Tall Ships" festivals. I think some pirates became lobsterman; lol.

I cured my homesickness by moving back to Vienna, Austria, after over 40 years in Canada (and I DEFINITELY do not miss the Canadian Winters!).

I cured my homesickness by moving back to Maine...do not miss the winters of my home state, lol! Seriously though; if the winters were just a little shorter or I had more money I might be able to deal.

I know - long winters, lol. I liked the summers in Western Canada, and having at times 3 vehicles, no problem getting around, but now that I am in Austria, with top-notch public transport, I realize how underdeveloped the Canadians are in this regard. Heck, even in Mexico I was able to catch a community bus regularly. But service in Canada got worse rather than better. When I went to visit again in 2016, I found to my dismay that Greyhound reduced service drastically, only one bus where they used to have 5 servicing my area. Just getting from Calgary (airport) to Lethbridge I have to rely on friends picking me up.
btw - I sent you a email after seeing your msg on bescouted (1 month late, lol).

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by twirble from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Hello @twirble, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00