Living a Meaningful Life

in #life5 years ago

Today I had somewhat of an existential crisis, I was thinking about my grandparents, which have recently started talking about their own death. They repeatedly say, if you ask them how they are doing, they are old and that they never thought it is going to be that bad.

The other day I was with them on the graveyard of their parents. My grandmother has problems with her knees and can barely walk and my grandfather has major problems with his back.
And as I was walking through the graveyard I saw this grave. When I realized what was written on the grave I had a somewhat traumatizing realization. The name of my Grandfather was written on the grave and I realized, My grandfather will die, my father will die, I will die, my kids will die and so on.

You will die


4438.jpg
http://www.scot-rail.co.uk/photo/scaled/4438/


In our society, we don't talk about death. In our day to day life, we are in complete denial of it.
This leads to us forgetting that our precious time in this life is very limited, so we live a passive and easy life and someday look in the mirror and wonder what we became, who we are and how we got into this situation.

Somewhere deep down inside you know what you are supposed to become

But if you don't become who you are supposed to be, you will increasingly feel guilty. Guilty about your current life and what you could have become.

~ ßears

Sort:  

Congratulations @twobears! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70880.42
ETH 3658.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75