Bustling busy beach day

in #life6 years ago

The week of July 4th is always a busy one in my hometown. The streets are crowded with slow moving vehicles...mostly tourists. They’re sight seeing while simultaneously trying to operate their GPS technology. It makes for much frustration to us locals. We can’t get too upset however, as we know tourism brings lots of money to our community.
Sometimes, we forget about the crowds when we are making plans for our days...this can lead to a lot of...adjusting in plans, or just adjusting our mindsets as to exactly how the day will go.
I had intentions on a beach day with both my boys and my parents. We pulled it off, but it was crazy busy!
Firstly, we didn’t take into account the lack of available parking! My family aren’t early risers...this can be a detriment to us in a lot of instances...beach parking is definitely on of those times.
We drove up and down the road for over half an hour before we finally gave in, and paid a ridiculous amount per vehicle to park. The only positive thing about paid parking lots, is they’re closer to the beach. The walk wasn’t nearly as bad as it could have been.
For those of you with kids...you know...a trip ANYWHERE is no easy task. We toted tons of stuff down onto the beach...just to keep the kids fed, hydrated, shaded and entertained!
We had to maneuver our way through rows and rows of people. Umbrellas were stretched out as far as the eye could see. We finally set up in a location far enough away from childless people attempting relaxation. I always try to be courteous to the fact that not all people love kids...and my boys can be quite rambunctious!!!
4DE16FE4-FCB0-4D4D-B107-41B70714205C.jpeg
The boys showed just how fearless they were! Even my two year old would run into the waves as fast as he could. They had no qualms about it! This of course made me nervous. I had hoped to relax a little...but I spent the majority of my time in the water with them. They got knocked down by waves a few times...which of course sent me into a panic! They just picked themselves up...and kept on going! I picked the boys up, jumped them over the waves and karate chopped the waves like ninjas! That was both boys favorite part. They would “chop” the waves just as they broke...and that was them “destroying” the waves with their super cool moves! Haha. Kids have great imaginations!
I did get some reprieve when my parents took the boys into the water. My mom, being quite the jokester, even took the boys to fill up their sand buckets with water and dump them over my Dad's Head! He was a good sport...and it was pretty hillarious!
25275C15-AEFA-46A5-B012-1D2499599792.jpeg
Aside from the awful sunburn I got (of course I lathered the boys in sunscreen, and forgot about myself) it was a pretty successful beach day!
I slathered my back with aloe, popped some ibuprofen...and I’m feeling okay. Hopefully we’ll get a few more beach days in this Summer! Maybe my workaholic hubby will even get to join us!

Sort:  

Look at this post that your home seems to be the busiest area here for the beach, because there is a fun in this busyness. There is a fun in this crowd. Many people are coming here from the far and wide but do not worry if you are worried because of your crowd. It's good to be happy because many of these fun and happiness are found in many lives.

Its always nice to have some plans for the kids during the summer break. Good luck and enjoy the summer.

Good day, so nice and cut

Posted using Partiko Android

Enjoy

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65