Memorial weekend cookout kickoff

in #life6 years ago

Memorial Day is about remembering our fallen soldiers. It’s about taking time to be thankful for those who paid the ultimate sacrifice for our freedom. It has also become a weekend that kicks off the start of Summer! Many people visit the beach, hang out with families and cook out on their grills!
Today my parents had a lovely little cookout at their place. It was a small gathering...me, the boys, my parents and my aunt and uncle. It’s nice to just be able to get together with the people you feel most comfortable with...and enjoy good food, weather and concersation!
106B89E7-56FD-48B1-9F6C-10550E1165B3.jpeg

B8835653-2300-4AE1-B7E7-584CD88C390C.jpeg
We had smoked pork, baked beans, potato salad, slaw and cornbread! It was quite a feast! The pork was marinaded overnight in my uncles top secret marinade! Whatever it was...it made the meat tender and juicy! The char from the grill added the perfect bite!
F8556E88-8CBB-4F0A-8E99-C41D69A2A0B9.jpeg
After dinner, my mom brought out dessert! I know I’m supposed to be on a healthy food kick...I have to admit, I haven’t been doing so well lately...and there was no way I could pass up the delicious cake my mom baked! It was coconut cake, with a strawberry mousse and whipped cream topping! Fresh berries topped it off...and it was so tasty!
84F3F3B6-01B9-41C3-B2F0-A01A1FDDCF5C.jpeg
Another great aspect of spending the day at my parents house...both boys were asleep before we hit the highway headed back home! Now...I can watch something other than cartoons...and relax! Good night to you all...peace and love! ✌🏻 ❤️

Sort:  

Its always nice to have family time. cake looks yammi.

Ahhh, I am feeling hungry after seeing your pictures. Yammmy

you and the kids truly had some great time with your parent and uncle, it was a better way to celebrate memorial day. i love the meal it looks realy appealing in the and delicious also most especially the dessert coconut cake your Mum made with the strawberry mousse on top of the cake. really looks nice @twoturtletots

Of course you are very young people you definitely love to visit with family and serving a lot of delicious food.Your life is really a lot beautiful. If you could be like you were going to visit the family with lots of food arranging a lot of delicious food, I have posted a lot of food here @twoturtletots

It was i a perfect day i will say.
Its always good to celebrate with your family like you said everyone is always comfortable being around his/her family.
Great post and thanks for shearing.
My greetings to your family

Wow what a day thump up to all men at war

nice strawberry dish.

Good Decision,,,,,, nice

Good Decision,,,,,, nice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71