A country in the dark

in #life5 years ago


Source


Hello friends of steemit, a few days ago Venezuelans experienced a national blackout, in fact until today there are still places without electricity in the country. It is an unpleasant experience to spend nights without light, between the heat, mosquitoes and knowing that the food in your refrigerator that cost you so much rots because of a failure.

This resulted in the death of 80 people because hospitals do not have functional power plants, in addition to some looting by the population as revenge for the situation or a form of opportunism for others.

Never in my life I saw my street so dark, I could see absolutely nothing, there was no light except some local generators and some cars that passed in the middle of the night. You could clearly hear the discontent of my neighbors and the rest of the inhabitants hitting pots, containers, aluminum lids, anything to make noise in a night where darkness reigned. On the other hand it was a good opportunity to see the stars, they were clearly seen, at least that relaxed me a bit, to see the cosmos reflected in the night sky, illustrating constellations.

Source

The devastating thing for me was the day, I had to go to a shopping mall with a power plant to charge my cell phone. The place was full, people who came to the same thing as me, others for a reason to get away from their homes and others to eat, seeing the prices takes away my desire to eat basically because I can't afford them, it's very discouraging.

I didn't get a phone signal at any time, I had to manage with other phone lines that barely had a signal to find out what was going on in the country. It turns out that the people who marched last Saturday were repressed by the national guard, taking advantage of the blackout and the fall of mobile networks to reduce the information route. The internet is chaotic, sometimes it goes well, sometimes it falls, that's why the Venezuelan community has been inactive in steemit.

Source

The worst thing is the response given by the government, saying that it is a sabotage and an electric war, of course I see soldiers shooting laser rays instead of bullets. They prefer to blame others than to recognize that the failure is their own, sooner or later an electrical crisis would occur in the country due to the lack of maintenance, the same corruption by diverting the resources destined for hydroelectric power or the purchase of cheap materials instead of first line possessing sufficient capital to subsidize the cost.

I don't know what to really think, I don't know what will happen, I will try not to lose faith that everything will change, because something will happen soon. I don't like to talk about my country because it's a fairly easy topic, where many take the opportunity to highlight, but under these circumstances and this bitter drink that happens these days was enough to publish something about it.

Finally, I hope that the light and the internet allow me to be active in steemit, since it is my means of income at the moment, I hope that the next post that I publish talking about my country is when this government finally leaves power and I can breathe something that was taken away from me some time ago, FREEDOM.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator
Sort:  

Congratulations @unpensadorloco! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01