The Story Of A Champion… Lizzie Velasquez, Ugliest Woman In The World

in #life7 years ago

lizzie.jpg
At birth, doctors told her parents that she would never speak or walk, she now does both and has two books to her name
Lizzie Velasquez has a medical condition known as Marfan syndrome which prevents her body from accumulating fat and so she can never gain weight. She has zero percent body fat and is blind in her right eye and impaired on the left.

A professional motivational speaker from Austin, Texas, Lizzie admits to being angry and frustrated about how she turned out to be.
!lvvv.jpg]()
There were many times where I was so frustrated and angry. I didn’t know who to blame or who to get angry at. I made every birthday wish, I lit every candle at church and did every prayer before bed. I said ‘God, please take this all away from me. Please make me normal.
At 17, a Youtube video was uploaded describing her as the World’s Ugliest Woman. She was thoroughly teased and bullied in school as a result of the way she looked. At her first day in kindergarten, she realized that other kids were scared of her. Growing older, she couldn’t even go swimming because of the way she looked in a swim suit

lvv.jpg

Giving credit to her parents, she said:

I credit my parents’ answer with why I’m able to do what I do today. When I asked them what was wrong with me they said there’s nothing wrong with you. The only difference is that you’re smaller than the other kids. They told me we are going to love you and support you and help you reach every dream you have.
Lizzie has written two books ‘Be Beautiful, Be You’ and ‘Choosing Happiness’ both centred around teenagers. She shared personal stories and obstacles that she’s had to face and overcome.

A documentary film based on her life titled Brave Hear is set to premier on October 17th 2016.

lv.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68