Old Wild Thoughts - Nostalgia

in #life6 years ago

destiny2.jpg
[Image 01]

Being someone born in the 80s, we have actually witnessed the world turning upside down. VHS Cassettes, Audio cassettes, monster tape recorders, VCPs (Video Cassette Player), VCRs (Video Cassette Recorder), Walkman (I don't know if the new generation even know there was something like that before ipod and mp3 players), Televisions without remote controls with 4-7 channels options to set and one A/V channel . Camera with Reels. You have 32 shots. You can't delete and make room for another one so it should be perfect. Oh! Wait. Now take it to the photo studio and wait for 30 days to get them on paper. The Albums. A whole new world of memories. Precious. Priceless.

cassette.png
[Image 02]

vcr2.jpg
[Image 03]

walkman (1).jpg
[Image 04]

I remember our first video game which has Super Mario, Galaxian, Bomberman, Street Fighter, Contra. All the 2D games. We would play it over and over, again and again. Friends will exchange game cassettes. I have played GTA 1 which was 2D, literally sky view, and you love to change the super mini cars, chased by the police and you jump over the wrecked bridge (just imagine how would the jump look from the sky view). I have played NFS 1 and if you are not from the 80s, you would hardly get the excitement about NFS 2. I still sometimes download it and play it (Just for the sake of old times).

video-game.jpg
[Image 05]

streetfighter.jpg
[Image 06]

Getting ready for the schools. having breakfast and watching a cartoon on our national TV channel. I am not the only one. Everyone in my country did the same. Cartoon Network. Superb. It was actually for kids. Captain Planet, Swat Kats, Voltron, Pink Panther, Tom & Jerry, The Mask, Dexter and hundreds of more. TV shows like CHIPS, Airwolf, Street Hawk, Knigtht Rider, The A Team. All the kids stuff was neat and clean (or atleast censored for kids).

chips.jpg
[Image 07]

Airwolf.jpg
[Image 08]

The wired telephones were common. It would ring once or twice the whole day. Only when it is important. Eyes would remain stuck on the post offices and postmen. You have got a letter from your relatives (mostly from the relatives living abroad), the feelings can't be expressed. It is like they send their love and care wrapped in that letter.

Outdoor games. I used to play Cricket, Football, Badminton, Hockey, Table tennis and lots and lotssss of local games with friends. Actual and Real Friends. Not virtual. The bonding those activities created is everlasting. We might not meet each other but we remember each other by face and by name. The reason being, we were actually there for each other when we needed each other.

Our opinions might have been wild but were open in the public not in the chat rooms, statuses, posts and discussion forums. Our teachers taught us that when you see someone littering, don't idealize him because you will become problem for the society instead of the solution. Pick that trash and let him idealize you.
We would see a problem (we were 10 at that time), we will call the group (just like you see the kids in "stranger things". Will tell our Mom and Dad. and the mission will begin. Awareness, going door to door, helping the elders coming to ground to watch matches, helping the neighbors in their clean up mission. You name it and we have done it. Free. For Fun. For Good.

I don't envy the modern society. Advancement is inevitable. No one can deny this fact.
But sometime I get scared by the direction we are going. What we are teaching our children. What our educational system is doing with our kids. All the technological advancement, are we taking away the life of new generations? I am questioning it because I have seen what Life is. I have felt what it can be. I know the difference between REAL and VIRTUAL. I think our new generation will struggle with connecting with the real world if we didn't address these social issues right now.


I am sorry if I brought your childhood memories to live. I was actually writing something else but all of a sudden got nostalgic and the sub conscious mind started throwing all the old memories. Couldn't stand it so thought to share it with you all.

I would love to read about your stories. Kindly do tell us know in the comments.


Image Sources:

Image 01
Image 02
Image 03
Image 04
Image 05
Image 06
Image 07
Image 08

Sort:  

Lol you just took me back, way back. Good old stress free life

I know. Good time those were. Sometimes I just go out without my cell phone and wander for hours an hours . People call me old fashioned. I think they don't know the feeling of the freedom from within and connection to the real world. I really wish I could change it for good :(

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65262.74
ETH 2937.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68