How I make unique 'Harry Potter' style wands

in #life6 years ago

IMG_1746.JPG

A little while ago I started making replicas of wands from the Harry Potter movies for my 2 children who are massive fans (... I should point out that I'm also a massive fan of Harry Potter!)

The photo above shows (from left to right) replicas of 'The Elder Wand', Voldemort's wand and lastly Hermione's.

My kids already each own an official Harry Potter wand which cost a ridiculous amount of money.

The boys loved these wands I made them, and started to refer to me as Olivander, the wand maker. From here it was a simple step for them to decide they wanted me to make unique wands from my imagination which would be just for us.

IMG_1775.JPG

My boys love them and we spend a lot of time fighting off death eaters and practicing duelling together.

But then I showed my brother who's wife is expecting their first child. He loved them and suggested that one day he'd like me to make them wands also. So it occurred to me that a much more personal birth present for his daughter will be her very own unique magic wand.

My brother and his wife live in Barcelona, and I visited there not too long ago and was blown away by the architecture of Gaudi. For this reason I decided to make his daughters wand taking inspiration from Gaudi with saline detailing and gradual changes in ocean colours.
Below are a series of photos detailing how I made it. I hope you enjoy.

The wand is made of dowel, I used colouring pens, and 3d details are created using Sugru (which is a rubberised glue which sets hard over a 24 hour period)
IMG_1813.JPG

I colour in the wand shaft
IMG_1814.JPG

and then use a damp cloth and wipe the colours into one another to create a gentler graduation. The Sugru comes in small portions of various colours
IMG_1815.JPG

I then moulded the various colours into shapes and attach it to the wand. The octopus is made of a main body piece and obviously 8 thin long tentacles. Each tentacle is actually 2 pieces of equal length (one orange, one pink) to try and replicate the difference between the top of the tentacle and bottom area (the part with suckers).
IMG_1820.JPG

IMG_1821.JPG

IMG_1822.JPG

IMG_1823.JPG

My brothers daughter's initials will be MM so I lightly inscribed these onto the 'head' of the octopus
IMG_1824.JPG

and then I used a thin screwdriver to push the pink area of the tentacles against the wand shaft, in such a way that it looks like the suckers are clinging on.
IMG_1825.JPG

I then let this cure for 24 hours so as not to damage any detail whilst working on the wand further.

Once dry I added extra details.
I placed on surge for the octopuses eyes, moulded ammonites and fish to add to the shaft, and also made small sea turtles.
IMG_1846.JPG

IMG_1847.JPG

IMG_1848.JPG

IMG_1849.JPG

I hope you've enjoyed reading this blog. It's longer and more detailed than my usual ones. If you liked it please consider splicing or re steeming :)

Sort:  

I love that you go to so much trouble for the sake of children.

  • plus, your wands are attractive, careful you do not develop it into a business.

  • ps: splicing? First time I've seen that on Steemit. What is meant - and, do I need a wand to do it?

Thanks for the positive comment...

Splicing!? No idea either. I guess it was just an auto correct... i think it was supposed to be 'upvote'... whoops

Congratulations @vaderdeluxe! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @vaderdeluxe! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71