You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Surthrival Trailer has AC!

in #life5 years ago

I had a solar panel mounted on my work truck for years, and just washed it when I washed the windows and lights, without noting any degradation in performance or the clarity of the glass.

Sort:  

Right, glass...I'm talking about other options to lighten up the panels. I have both panels framed in glass that are heavy, but won't scratch and flexible panel's set in epoxy that do scratch.

What's the best none-glass material that can be used to lighten the panels that has the same abrasion resistance as glass, but is lighter?

So, I was specifically addressing plastic coated panel's clouding over, because they cannot handle wind blown dust like glass does, because glass is the heaviest material used in framed panel's.

Glass is durable because of it's hardness, while lighter materials are less hard because they are less dense. Polycarbonate is the best option I am aware of if weight must be reduced, but it isn't as hard as glass, nor does it indefinitely remain transparent exposed to UV. I found glass to be the best compromise due to cost, durability, and availability.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62