Colorado Burning

in #life6 years ago

1.jpg

Living on Earth, we tend to accept (or should accept) that at some point, natural disasters (or man-made ones) will occur. It doesn’t make their appearance and devastation any easier. Honestly, I think we all hope that it will never happen to us. But they have to happen to someone. And the rest of us stand together to put the pieces back together once the dust has settled. At least, that is what should happen. And usually does.

But the fires in Colorado… those are hitting close to home. I lived there for almost 6 years, in Denver, during grad school. I hiked those mountains that are now in flames. I have friends who live near and in the mountains where those fires are charring the ground and everything in their path.

I can’t stop the fires, but I can send out positive thoughts to those in the path of the flames, and those that have already lost everything.

I can give thanks to the people on the ground, fighting the flames. I have family that fights fires for the Forrest Service, and I worked for them one summer. The sheer number of people and equipment involved for big fires comes from many states. It is a group effort, and every single person deserves thanks for what they do.

U5dt9cZAP4hqYhsp5i2h7VdLsik46Cu_1680x8400.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00