Thought of the Day

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Every once in a while I would come across a famous quote that sends me into deep thought. Its not the same as going online to search for popular quotes . I’m talking about going through my day and then just randomly finding a needle in a haystack. I found one today.


If I’m free, it’s because I’m always running.
-Jimi Hendrix

What is the significance of the quote to me:
When I was 18 and fresh out of high school, I had so many ideas and could adapt to any type of challenge I came across. It was easy at the time because I was young and had nothing to lose. But the older I became, the more laid back and comfortable I become. My once creative ideas have become blurry. The less risks I want to take. It is so easy to find something I like and then getting comfortable with it.

The quote is a reminder to me that the deeper I fall into this “comfort zone” the further away I am from being physically & socially active or even pushing myself into a better position. It makes me realize that I still have the choice to break free from these bonds—if I start running. If I open my mind and explore the world around me. Its possible I can still achieve great things.

If you like this post, please upvote it and follow me. I would enjoy the company. 

Sort:  

followed. I love Jimi Hendrix, and this quote is inspiring.

Awesome! Returned the favor. ;)

My mind feels blown away. I read this article 3 times in a row just now. Maybe is just timing, or was meant for me to think about. I totally get the comfort thing. For years now I have wanted/needed to move on to a better career path. I'm just going down a dead-end road with no future in sight. I crushed so many of my own dreams, because of that thing called (comfort). I'm determined to change that in the near future. I shy away from the unknown, even attempting blogging on here is slow going. But, that desire to break free is finally opening up my eyes and loosening up that comfortable hold. I am following now and look forward to reading your future posts.

Yes... Sometimes comfort zone is the dangerous place in our life because nothing happens.

I agree. Such as watching TV or taking constant naps. Its important to take a break once in a while to spend time and help with family, friends & people in need. However, its smarter to know when to limit such comforts of life.

You're on the right path! I think the key is to first become aware of it--which you just did. What to do next is all up to you. And equally important acquire the support you need from your circle of influence to help you get there. Cheers!

Most definitely :-)

Very thought provoking my friend! You've been listening to Tim Ferriss again, haven't you? 😉

lol, Tim Ferris is an excellent mentor and has a massive network of very smart people. He most certainly may have played a part in my writing. :)

I like it @vangfo! Keep running. Upvoted and followed.

Thank you! I'm happy to join your blog too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55