Mandatory Attendance At University?

in #life6 years ago

Death to All

I hate attending class. I don't mind attending a class that is worth going to. I love learning, and I love listening to an intelligent man output awesome information. I am in six classes for computer science at the moment and only one of them fully interests me enough for me to want to attend.

That is a Cloud Applcation Design class and it is taught by a graduate from Berkeley, he's awesome, chill and just overall a great role model. Now what about these other classes?

The other classes at least have an attendance policy. Don't skip two days in a row or get kicked out, excessive skips will heavily weigh your grade, blah blah blah! GAWD.

This is a slightly spiteful post. I just am quite upset when I hear that I am paying for something that I must go to. You ever get kicked out of your yoga class for not attending? I understand if you're interfering with other's performance, but if I'm capable of walking in and doing my yoga like I'm a god damn contortionist, well then leave me alone man!

The Average

Every semester you get this wonderful day where the professors sit you down and tell you all about a piece of paper they sent you a week in advance. You read it together, so you don't miss anything. How wonderful. We're considered adults by now folks, errr rethink that. So, during this lovely time many professors will discuss how you can do good in their class, what not to do in their class. Oh boy, I'm ready to listen because I wanna do REAL well, you know!?

They say, make sure to come to class, there is heavy statistics showing a direct correlation with class attendance and grade. Perfect. Well now I know I should come! Oh, by the way, if you don't come I will deduct points from your overall grade and possible dismiss you from the course.

These people don't understand man. These people crazy man. Of course, it makes sense that people would do better coming to class then not. But lets be honest, thats because if they didn't come to class they actually wouldn't go over the material at all! They wouldn't ever even learn it. I'm not saying get bad grades and flunk. I'm just upset about the silly attendance policy they force on "adults".

Do you hate it too?

Seriously. Do you hate it too?

I want to know who else hates it.

Comment below with your hate and give some love by upvoting! Don't forget.

Keep Steeming you Hooligans!

Sort:  

Wow, I didn't know universities had policies like this. While I attend most of my lectures, I would hate if we actually had to attend. Some things are best learnt by yourself and some lectures can be pretty bad. Although, it must feel bad beeing a lecturer and not have people show up.

He has a full class! It's an upper division class. I just prefer to learn alone. I learn quicker, and I do it the way that is effective for me! Are you in Uni?

Yeah, I'm un uni as well. My study is a mixture of classical engineering and computer science.

Wow cool, I have a degree in mechatronic engineering and study CS! How fun, what are you planning to do? Steem? lol

I'm not really sure, actually. Making decent income doing steem-stuff would be a awesome, and quite frankly, not that unrealistic.

I don't think its unrealistic at all. I blieve thats why we're all here!

That's true. Steemit enables turning procastination into profit, so it's sure to have a forever-lasting market. Also, if the STEEM price grows, which I believe it will, I imagine that small accounts even with their current Steem Power will be able to provide some serious voting power in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 70976.53
ETH 3850.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48