I got scammed on steam

in #life6 years ago

igs1.png

History

Okay so before I start my boring story I want to clear that I have been scammed by a guy who took my knife. Yes It was a knife but before you stop reading any further I want to clarify that the knife was a part of a pc game Counter strike global offensive and I was playing that game for a while it contains some in game skins for games but the knifes are very rare and expensive.

Firstly Counter strike global offensive is a multiplayer first person shooter game we have some steemians who also play that game it's very popular despite oh how old it is. To prove how popular that game is here are some stats.
Note:- These stats are at the time of writing this shitty post XD

StatsNumbers
Players Online458642
Servers Online252989
Players Searching11810
Servers Available172668
Ongoing Matches21988
Source

igs3.png

Okay !! for those of you who are really reading this post and wondering why are you even telling this just tell about the scam. I lost a 350$ knife I need to make this post a bit long so that some people can upvote and I can buy a new knife #justkidding .

How it all started?

It started with me playing with some random dudes in early times I saw a different kind of knife in a persons hand and on the same day I figured out the skins for guns I was unaware of prices and how to purchase them and I heard people saying Knifes are pretty rare and during game play I noticed that no-one is talking to me instead everyone is following that guy with the knife also people sending friend requests to that dude.

At first I thought skins are scam! because who will ply such a big money for just visual satisfaction but as I played further gradually I thought of getting myself some skins I bought some skins and showed them of they were pretty cheap skins collectively worth around 15$ as I was playing I got a message from my friend asking for skins for 1 match I trust that guy because I knew him personally.

So I gave him the skins and after one day I again messaged him for skins and got no reply. Then I saw him online on facebook So I messaged him Hey when you are returning those skins? and his reply was What skins?. I was shocked , so basically his account was hacked 3 days ago and some other dude was controlling his account

Conclusion- I fucked up!!

But the loss was not too big and I kinda accepted that. But you may now be wondering where is the knife?
igs2.png

The Knife

So Basically as I ranked up the people having knifes and skins came more often in matches and they really draw attention so I decided to buy myself a knife. I found this site skincoin.org they have a ethereum based token to purchase items so as a crypto guy I was having some funds to throw on a knife though if my parents ever find out that I dumped hundreds of dollars for a in-game item they will call an ambulance.

Anyways I bought myself a karambit knife and some skins and also gifted some skins to my friend. By the way we met in game we were in opposite teams and we were leading our teams so we became friends we played some matches together and the bond just got stronger he lives in south India I am from north India. I have never seen him, but he is a nice guy. So I gifted him some skins as a new year gift.

So I bought myself a knife and I got lot of attention in matches And it was kind of nice to gather attention at the same time I was not realizing that the game was ruining my study time I found myself sitting and playing the game the whole day , my eyes were in pain and my mind find it hard to stabilize my whole body after a long session and when I bought the knife everything got worse I was playing a lot.

igs4.png

Gambling

So my friend messaged me that he found this gambling website bolt.gg and I checked it out I lost all my skins but I took risk to gamble my knife and I did so and I won a 350$ knife it was so cool knife I was so happy to have it. I immediately cashed out and told everyone about it I was so happy. And the moment it arrived in my inventory I got a friend request from guy named joe I took a look on his profile and man he was looking like a pro trader I accepted the request and he immediately messaged me asking If I want to trade my knife I said nope I have to play with it for a while he said he will overpay wit a 430$ knife I was amazed and thought that I should proceed. I said him I will tell him later .
igs5.png.
Later I messaged him that I am up for trade While my friend said that he must be a scammer I said I will be cautious
igs 6.png
igs6.png

I fell into the trap he added me as a friend on discord immediately he said he will be selling that knife so I need to verify that if the knife is trade-able to ops skins a website. So I agreed then he asked me to turn on screen-share I did and he guided me to list my knife on sale on ops skins with a price tag of 2000$ just to verify As I proceeded he said click next He said press next like 3 times in a row I in hurry did so immediately I got a trade offer to deposit my skins from ops skins I did and he blocked me on discord and on steam both then I realized that he was the one pretending as ops skins who send me offer as I was using screen share he knows exactly when the offer will appear .

Igs7.png

I have been scammed many times before maybe it happens because of the trust I do on people or maybe not at the end of the day I was very sad and I want you people to never get scammed like that and never repeat the same mistake I did Wish you a happy new year fellas

igslast.png

Sort:  

I am very sorry for what happened to you but i have to say, you have learned a valuable but precious lesson.

Kya baat kya baat kya baat ☺☺loved the way you illustrated the whole incident

DEAR FRIEND,
BE Safe. Stay patient and calm with matters of money.
Say hello anytime. Wishing you a better and brighter 2018.
Happy Holidays !

The way you told the whole is just commendable. It was really satirical but yes, the topic was really serious and requires attention.

Loved your illustrations.

Steam is really not a safe place and we should not trust any stranger in things related to money. Thanks for this informative post.

Internet is full of scammers and be careful.

Dude? You lost the tiger tooth???
Damn bro, you should have been more careful.

A nice illustrations...But $350 knife that's too much

Yeah now I am realizing it's too much

Respect! You made the Magazine :)
JTS SteeMAGAZINE

I am afraid there is no way in hell you can get the items back. You see, since you simply gave this guy the items, there is nothing that anyone can do about it because it might as well have been a trade between friends, or simply a gift. Keep an eye on people that take advantage of your kindness and stay safe :)

So the guy took my trade id and made an account with ops skins bot name and send request from the opskins bot account it felt pretty normal as I was depositing skins to ops skins to verify that the skins are trade-able

Dude that was a amazing way to tell the whole thing. You hold a great talent of telling something satirically. Best article read in my entire steemit age.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67840.19
ETH 3560.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.26