En route

in #life5 years ago (edited)

A helping hand.

I made several attempts to post updates about my whereabouts the other day but there was never enough time to spare. I was also mentally exhausted. Are you curious now? I hope you are.

@kommienezuspadt he had an important production shoot for an LA based pinup clothing line. He was under a lot of pressure because the clothing would be shipped to our home and this shoot would take place in our location without the on-hand guidance of the designers. He desperately wanted to maintain a good work relationship and still showcase his strengths with this production. I knew there was a great amount of trust being placed on him to successfully capture their vision but I had a hard time understanding his worry. That changed when I decided to tag along to help with the wardrobe fitting.

Half of the garments sent were sample pieces so there were minor flaws like a glove that wouldn’t cooperate or a top that should have a hook to assist when zipping the back. These items fit the model exact, with little slack and that made it difficult for her to dress on her own. That’s when it dawned on me that there was a limited about of time for shooting at the chosen location. I had to offer my help, especially in a situation where time was money. You might think that photographing a clothing line would be easy but it’s not. It’s even more difficult when time is not on your side and you’re left short handed.




It’s not very often that I’m able to free myself to assist on shoots, not with a little human to watch over.

Two days before the shoot, I sent messages out in search of a sitter. Most of my friends declined because it was too short notice but eventually I found a cousin who’s kid brother plays well with @guthrie. His company was welcomed which was a huge relief.

The day of the shoot arrived. @kommienezuspadt and I slept terribly the night before. We were struck with restlessness and worry. The box of clothing was accidentally left at the shoot location, not yet steamed. That weighed down on my mind because I had planned to cut corners and save time by prepping the looks beforehand. I eventually got over it since tomorrow would soon be here and there was no time to waste on mistakes, only solutions to solve them upon arrival.

We dropped off the little one, picked up coffee and made our way to the salon which was where our model was.




It’s a small world...

Chelsea, the model was getting her hair styled when we arrived. I scanned the room and did not expect to see a familiar face. Chelsea’s mother, Erica was present and keeping her daughter company. Long story short, I used to work with Erica. We hugged, I asked her how she was doing and that’s when I learned that her husband had recently passed. I gave her my condolences, he was a good man. Erica gave me a soft smile and told me that she’s slowly learning to go about her days without him. It breaks my heart but I’m glad to see that she’s in good health.

I wasn’t the only one who saw this meeting as a coincidence. Nicole, who’s the hair stylist also knew Erica and had taken her on as a client. What a small world.




Once Chelsea’s hair was complete, we began our drive to the shoot location... I’ll continue the story in a later post.


Thanks for stopping by to read about yesterday’s happenings. 🦊

Sort:  

I would never think that any photo shoot is easy. All the preparation and time that you have to invest to do everything in advance and if something goes wrong then the panic starts taking over.. but I think it's like this anytime you have to organize something important and if you have a baby it's much more stressing..

It looks like you had a super busy day. But so far it sounds like everything was good at the end.. When you meet people who you know it all becomes a little easier.. I'm looking forward to reading the second part of the story..

Thank you for sharing! Have a good day!

Gee I would NOT think a fashion photo shoot would be easy, in fact I imagine it's pretty involved and complicated and now I am seeing it first hand. Good luck!

I can't wait to see the next phase of it and it's nice you can help out. Be careful on those icy snow covered roads.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I hope it all worked out!

Ooohh another day in foxxie's adventurous journey. This one definitely sounds like a hectic day that is filled with a lot of challenges and unexpected difficulties, but I have high hope that you and Lars will be able to tackle it :D.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79