You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Humanity is overrated

in #life5 years ago

Nailed it. I am a pretty careful drivers myself but it isn't even about the me me me, I think I sometimes think about the elderlies or the disabled and the self-driving cars offer a whole new world to them, and so bring it on.

Thanks for a very thoughtful article :) You are right that humans are selfish and stupid and we should not really regard ourselves so high as to think that all technology is inferior to us somehow.

Sort:  

There are a lot of careful drivers in this world, and I'm happy because of that. However, the ones who are not, are the problem, and they are the reasons accidents happen.

Self driving cars won't only help those you mentioned, people with disabilities or old people who cannot drive well because of some disease or because they simply cannot see properly any more, but they will also prevent accidents from happening, especially if the driver will not be able to take control.

I'm not suggesting we should replace everything with technology. However, why let people who cannot be responsible enough do things that will endanger others, when you can simply put technology in charge and maybe avoid future problems?

There may still be accidents and all kind of problems, sure, but if half of those who would normally drive drunk wouldn't be able to, because of a self driving car who wouldn't allow him to do it, then hundreds or even thousands of accidents could avoided.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62423.89
ETH 3202.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81