You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Maybe we're not so different...

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I don't agree. :) I think we can only make "objective" judgments (or rather, "truthful") when we know all the information, and that only happens when we judge ourselves.

When we see others, we only see what it seems to be; we don't know why they act as they act, or why they do what they do, or what they are thinking, etc., in fact, we know almost nothing. We only know what it seems to be from our angle. The judgments we make of others are rather misleading. Sometimes we judge ourselves "better" than others and we believe that we should judge ourselves worse, I say quite the opposite, maybe we should judge others better.

But I don't know, only you know... said that, delightful post, as always.

Sort:  

Ironically, I believe what you just said as much as I believe what I wrote :)) I agree you can't know all the details about someone's situations and how they feel and think and all, but I do think we share a lot of similarities and while I do think there are special occasions with special circumstances that affect us, often enough, we have the same emotional and psychological triggers.

You're right, we like to judge ourselves better than others, but in the case I was thinking of, it had nothing to do with superiority or inferiority, didn't even cross my mind. It's just that I could understand the reasons the girl in question was acting a certain way because I can easily see myself responding similarly to the same triggers, you know?

It's like, in a similar situation, I immediately told myself it was special, different from other people's and I'm sure this girl tells herself the same thing. Trouble is, most of the time, it's not special. There's a chance, sure, but it's just really rare.
I like this idea of judging others better, I really do. Too often we project our own fears and frustrations on the people around us and that makes for a really toxic environment.

Thank you for the thoughtful comment, @vieira, as always :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74