You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't Give Up

in #life5 years ago

The argument from desire of C.S. Lewis reminds me of the Platonic conception of the soul. Plato said that the human sought in the physical world ideal objects, things that don't physically exist, things such as justice, good, beauty, etc., but could not find them and only found their reflection, that is, just things or beautiful things, but never justice or beauty, and so on. But finally, and if detached by the virtue of material things, and stopped pursuing reflections, at death they would find the satisfaction of such desires.

On the other hand, you are right in saying that no one but yourself can find such an answer, and that is because, even if the most wise words come from the mouth of another person, we are the ones who ultimately interpret them, and only when we are really willing to know such an answer, we will realize that it has always been there and everywhere, because that thing in which we can't give up, necessarily we have always had it with us, at least that's what I believe, I may be wrong.

Excellent post. Regards!

Sort:  

Thank you for such a thoughtful comment. Yes, your right on the same line of thinking. I wouldn't be surprised if the roots for the argument from desire come directly from the Platonic conception of the soul. Your thoughts are just a level above what I was going after... Which was simply, that in order to 'not give up' in life, there better be something real you're aiming for :) or else..there just won't be enough to sustain you through this difficult life.

These objects of desire are shadows of their deeper counterparts, a necessary direction and not an end.. as you pointed out. That's why it becomes a lifelong conversation inside of us because it is actually the something behind the 'something' we think we want, that we truly long for. But still, we necessarily start with the first 'Something' before we realize it is only a shadow.

I'm proof that many things can be studied and understood, but not at all 'known', or in effect. Only through clawing through my own cacoon are the truths I sought made real... and in such a way that they are unique to my life, as if they could be found nowhere else in the world. And it is those things, those immaterial objects of desire, which I can hardly even describe, that are my north star. Yet I still, from time to time, find myself searching in these 'physical world objects'... and scratching my head asking.. why won't they fix me! . haha.

We go through the same process. >>
!

We couldn't agree more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69413.68
ETH 3688.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.36