One Of My Early Teenage Hobbies Was Cartography

in #life3 months ago

Good day, fellow Steem users worldwide! For today's first and last post here on my, I decided to write a little bit about one of my former early teenage hobbies, more specifically cartography. As I was growing up, I was very interested in geography and social sciences. Consequently, along with the passage of time, I became very interested in maps as well. So much so, in point of fact, that I decided to draw some myself. And so I did, initially based on the standard maps that I found in some of my atlases and, then, gradually based on my visual memory. Of course now, they were not 100% accurate but, I dare say, at least for me, they were quite close to the standard depiction in the atlases that I found them.


Image source: Pixabay

I was interested in both historical maps, topographic maps, fantasy maps, and literally anything in between, because, as I am certain you will agree with me, maps are fascinating indeed. Carefully analysing them and then replicating them as a hobby represented quite a good spare time for me. This further helped me refine or improve my sketching skills. I often felt I was far more interested in sketching than in colouring, but when I was into my early 20s I was rather interesting in colouring as well, particularly some mandalas so as to cope with anxiety or stress. It felt very therapeutic and cathartic indeed and, if I may, I can definitely recommend this to anyone interested.

That was basically all, folks. I truly hope you liked my post and that you had hopefully found it interesting. At the same time, keep on sketching and colouring if you are into both or just into either of those two. It's just about as good for the mind as it is good for the soul. Thank you so much for your time, attention, and readership! All the best!

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Thank you very much for your comment and constant support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75