Sunburn Remedy

in #life6 years ago

Don't you love it when you go to a fun event, like Disneyland or the beach with family, and you get a great sunburn as a souvenir? If you read my previous post you know that I attended the San Diego Yoga Festival this weekend. While it was a spiritually rewarding experience, the weather was unpredictable and I was unprepared.

IMG_0351.jpg

IMG_0319.JPG

Saturday was a bit cold for SoCal with a light drizzle, but everyone embraced it and let Mother Nature wash away any negativity and no one complained. I did get a little frustrated with my yoga mat, though. Sunday, however, was sunny and 75ish, so my Norwegian fair skin got scorched. Zero sunscreen, on the sand, and in the sun for roughly five hours. It's still not as bad as my worst sunburn of all time, thankfully, but I'm treating it the same way: aloe vera and ice cream.

IMG_0385.jpg

There are several delicious vegan ice creams on the market now, including flavors by Ben and Jerry's, Haagen-Dazs, and So Delicious, just to name a few. Tonight I couldn't make a decision so I bought four half pints, but I promise I did not eat all of them…yet. This evening I cracked open the Haagen-Dazs Mocha Chocolate Cookie and couldn't have been more satisfied. Ice cream is one of my favorite comfort foods, but I especially love it when badly sunburnt because it's so cold and refreshing. My head has been hurting due to my overall body temperature being hotter than usual so I was actually hoping for a brain freeze.

IMG_0377.jpg

Another great remedy is aloe vera, as we all know. Instead of buying gel that has more chemicals than actual aloe vera, I broke off a leaf from our aloe vera plant, sliced it down the middle and put the juicy gel directly on my burn. The leaf was fat and ripe enough that I only had to use half of it and saved the rest for tomorrow. And this was only one of the small leaves. Plant power is amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62