You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Remembering How to Read: A Few Tips

in #life6 years ago

Thanks for bringing Michael's column to our attention. The column references McLuhan's thoughts about technology numbing our awareness... and Michael suggests that it numbs our patience as well.

It's interesting because I've often said that I do my best thinking in the shower. I've never really given much thought why... but I'm now realizing it's because that's one of the few places where I'm not constantly interrupted by technology.

Sort:  

There are some very well chosen quotes in that article. I wanted to bring in a couple of them, but did not simply want to re-hash his whole article in my post. :) A lot of people have said that bath or shower time brings out the most creative thoughts. I'm not sure if it's always been that way or more so since technology took over so much of our lives.

Technology numbs when used wrongly. It is like a gun when used wrongly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79