I Have Been a Used Car Salesman For The Last 3 Months: My Take on The Economy

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The terms 'Have's' and 'Havenot's' have never been so glaring in my experience. Not even close. Selling used cars for a living illustrates these characterizations like few other professions could.

For the better part of the last two decades, I ran golf courses. Either as a golf pro or as a general manager. In that environment, I was able to see the struggle of the upper-middle class to afford the extras in life. Sob stories about the price of membership were common, but a membership at a golf club is not necessary to maintain a family, home or incidentals. Their sob stories seem comical to me now that I'm selling to the masses that 'need' a car.

We sell very nice used cars without a huge markup. The inventory is priced between $8k-$50k, something for everyone. Indeed, everyone shops at this dealership. I've sold to people making $500k and others that don't speak English and carried a bag of cash. All walks of life.

The breakdown of my customers illustrates both the fiscal health of the New Jersey economy and the changing socio-economic make-up of the overall community. I'll try to compile a list of all of the different buying profiles that I've encountered so far.

  1. You Need Me:
    This is the pre-approved douchebag that is dangling his purchase in front of 7 different dealerships and never makes a purchase. I don't understand these fools that project wealth, waste time in dealerships and don't buy anything. Strange behavior.

  2. The Laydown Customer:
    I have the money, you have a fair price, how long will this transaction take? I love these people.

  3. I Need a Car, But Can't Pay For It:
    I feel bad for these people. They likely can pay for the car if anyone were willing to extend them some credit. These people are generally young and/or new to the country. They have no established credit, minimal down payment and no qualified co-signer. They have a long road to hoe on their journey for a purchase.

  4. I Want a Better Car, But Can't Pay For It:
    See #3 and add a sense of entitlement. This is a person that is generally in their 20's, lives at home and wants a fancy car on a mall job wage. Never going to happen. By the way, how do you expect to fix your fancy car in the near future?

  5. Dreamers:
    People that love the idea of driving a car with a Hemi engine with unrealistic concepts of what they cost. These people I force into figuring out their financing before they are allowed to go on a test ride. I don't need to put my life on the line with you behind the wheel, if you can't afford the vehicle. They never can.

  6. The Sneaky Buyer:
    Never judge a book by it's cover. That phrase has never been more true than in the car industry. You will get someone pulling in with a real hoopty of a vehicle, looking disheveled and walking in the door with an attitude. Unwilling to give up any personal information, including their name. By the end of the selling process, they bought the most expensive car on the lot and are inviting you to their next party. This type of buyer then sends mad referrals. Don't judge.



  1. Those With Money:
    They never pay the asking price. They act condescending through the entire process. They're allowed special perks like being allowed to write personal checks. Aggravating people, but a sale is a sale.

  2. The Battle:
    Finding a path to ownership for people in unfortunate circumstances. This is when you have to reach out to the Thrift Banks and Credit Unions to find an extraordinarily high rate of interest to get someone into a car. They're totally willing, so I don't feel badly about satisfying their subjugation.

There are plenty of tire kickers and other types out there, but what I do see is that most people are just scraping by and barely passable as customers. Wages are relatively stagnant and there many people that are relatively new to the US that have a real tough time getting into a quality vehicle.

The thing that really stands out is that people will generally tend towards vehicles they can't afford or are just making them further overextended. I see it every day.

Young people telling me about their image and that they can't be seen in a 'practical' car. I used to think that car salesman were heartless bastards that were happy to financially impair a young person by putting them into a car they can't afford. No longer. These nitwits beg for the abuse.

Just some thoughts from a used car salesman.

Hit me up at [email protected] and check out the inventory at mbmotorsports.com, I'd be happy to sell you a car.

Sheeps



Image Source: 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

I really liked this story from real life .. Thanks.

I never understood the mentality to buy a fancy car outside of your means that will take 10 years to pay off. I've never paid more the $5000 for a car. Last car was $3000 and I had it 10 years before the engine blew. Society pressures us into needing to feel cool or high class in our cars which influences people to spend more money than they should.

I agree @marxrab. As you know, Id love to have one of those newer model Dodge Challengers, but Its just not practical to get one right now. It would be cool, but there are plenty of vehicles that can do what I need for much less.

I live in the same boat that you do. I don't even understand my customers, but I actually facilitate their ruin. SMH

This is an interesting breakdown of customers. But those who cannot even afford the cheapest cars at your dealership need to look elsewhere, like craigslist. I have a '95 Lexus ES 300 for sale right now that I would let go of for $1600 that has been a very reliable car for me (I only got a newer one so I can drive for Uber). This car would do a lot of people proud in terms of getting around, and it does not look awful. As far as people being worried about their image, well, all I can say is sometimes you have to get what you can afford.

The dealership always wants your trade...your Lexus has no value to us, even tho it's reliable...it wouldn't even make wholesale. Give it to a relative. Donate it to your church. Best value.

Ill just sell it on craigslist, which is where I got it about 15 months ago. I may give one away one day but not today. I imagine most places would have no interest in taking it as a trade in, and the few that did would give me pennies on the dollar.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wakeupsheeps from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62623.58
ETH 3021.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72