It's just a dream

in #life5 years ago

Come, look through this window and see what you can see...

bell-2105157_1280.jpg
Image by Arek Socha from Pixabay

SPEED OF GRAVITY

When I looked up I saw some monkey at the controls, so I took out my banjo and played it for all I was worth and was making some headway when we struck the earth at around the speed of gravity.
They buried us where we fell of course and raised a headstone to say: nobody comes here without dying.

COMING OUT OF THAT HOLE

Afterwards, the survivors headed home and left me behind forever in some dark place I didn’t want to be in; those damn survivors; well if I’m to be marinated like this, then at least leave me a bottle of beer, I said, but they didn’t hear me.
So there I was: dead and all and feeling a bit depressed because I’d forgotten to finish something and I just had to get back up there to see to it.
But on looking around I could find no doors or anything else for that matter in the pitch black; and silent as the grave it was too.
Is there anyone else here, I called out, not really expecting an answer.
Just the dead, said a voice from out of the darkness.
Do you know of a way out of here, I asked.
There’s a ladder over there in the corner; help yourself, said the voice.
Thanks, I said and felt my way to it, and setting my foot on the first rung I began to climb.
It won’t do you much good climbing up there, said the voice from out of the darkness.
And why’s that, I asked.
Well, over in the other corner there’s a hole cleverly disguised as something we won’t talk about right now, but if you climb to the top of that ladder you will find yourself coming out of that hole.
Thanks for the advice, I said, and carried on climbing.

FEAR

Afraid; why the cognitive dissonance alone will knock you out, and after that there are other things to fear.
Perhaps if I climb up the ladder faster
Believe me; there’s nothing there; but even if there was, what good would it do you in the grave?
Is it really that bad?
Worse

ALTERNATIVE ENDING

And then with one last incredible gasp, I married the cave-troll who came for me and carried me off to the cave so that I was never seen again in quite the same way, no matter how hard anyone looked at me trying to recognise something that wasn’t there anymore.

A NORMAL ENDING

Writing is made up of ideas, concepts and description through the formulaic application of how we were taught to say things so others could understand us.
But what if we could go beyond that and bring about a language that is universally understood by everyone, to at least express what is real to us, to speak in such a way, only lovers, know the language?
Speak from your heart using words hidden within the reality the mind can’t penetrate.
But perhaps you’re tired now, and you can’t go on, and you’ve even gone past the hope of anyone to carry you.
And as each page of your life drops away to be gone forever with nothing done but the chasing of something you’ve never found, until now, when lo and behold, the lifeline is thrown to you, over and over again by dome dipshit who needs to exercise more.
About a day later I ordered Ten pounds of secret beauty to be delivered immediately, but it was only scratching the surface of where I wanted to be, so I began to chant my intentions all over the place just to see what would happen…
I chanted here and I chanted there and then I chanted all the way back again and fell into a déjà vu time warp that took me far, far away.

IT’S JUST A DREAM

I had a button I used to press quite a lot, but I lost it after the flea band came around and stole it from me one day while I was out strolling around looking for something that would tell me where I should go next.
So I swam until I couldn’t swim anymore and then give up those plastic monkeys that have worn me down to where it is all just a dream.
Well, my face was orange but I wanted ice cream, said an exact moment coming perfectly from somewhere else along the bridge of dreams.
Oh father, father, convert me to this faith, for I would have something to believe in
But my darling, it is other faith, and I would not convert you to that.
Do you not believe in yourself then?
Well, while I’m out walking, usually I do.
And what do you do the rest of the time?
Oh, the rest of the time I spend in dreaming.

QUESTION TIME

And now it is time for the questions: what have you got to say against that?
A very long list…
And you swim without a crutch I see
Well, you see, there was this old fellow who couldn’t count to ten, so I gave him all my spare change to go to college to learn these kinds of things, and….
And his name is?
Oh, I’ve quite forgotten it by now, I’m sure.
Perhaps these electric prongs will help you remember…

THE MANY EMPTIED CUPS

It was all rather convoluted I thought as I lay in the plastic breather machine wondering where I’d end up next.
And then I thought: I don’t want them coming in the back door, in fact, I don’t want them coming in any door.
Am I an angel in the dust to swim around in this then, said some son of a gun
There have always been angels coming in here through the back door, said somebody, suddenly, from nowhere, doing nothing, and jumping up and down saying: but it has to be this way.
When I ran for it to escape, once again, I jumped over the moon.
I never did find my way back to the ground from there, no matter how much wine I drank…

Image from Pixabay

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71