Why is it that when you have less, you feel like you have more?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

From the moment we are born we are conditioned to want the same things as everyone else, to conform to society's standards and beliefs. You have to be labelled and pigeonholed into a neat parcel so other people can understand you, even if it means you no longer understand yourself.

This has been my story..... Until now. I had a TV, a DVD player, a bed, an impressive DVD collection, copious books, the latest gizmos and gadgets, lots of knick knacks, even a bed frame. I am moving into a more simplistic way of living. I am removing things in my life that no longer serve me purpose. The vast majority of my DVDs and knick knacks have been donated, my bed frame has been removed from my house, a large and invasive looking talboy has been given to a friend. I used to cling to all my possessions and now I understand why. I did that because I placed emotional attachment on them and instead of focusing on healing emotionally. I clung to objects. The more I have let go, the more free I feel. It is invigorating not living life by everyone else's standards. Now I live my own life, my own way.

In terms of being pigeonholed, I have been labelled based on my gender, sexual preference, diet, lifestyle, job, education level, qualifications, religious beliefs, physical appearance, emotional health, mental health, my geographic location, the socioeconomic status of my parents, my friends, my partners, my dreams and my past mistakes. I am sure many of you can relate to these and possibly more labels. What's the point of having a label? Imagine .... just imagine what it would be like to have a free world where everyone was accepting of others and didn't need labels. They just treated others with kindness, compassion and love.

I leave you with this thought my friends,

Imagine a world where you can be you

Imagine what it feels like to experience true freedom

Imagine it with all your senses; touch, taste, sight, hearing and smell

Imagine how amazing you can be if you fulfill your life and ignore the expectations of society

Just. Imagine.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post was featured on @freedomtribe's first curation post! I pray your experience will lead to more freedom and spiritual healing!

https://steemit.com/discord/@freedomtribe/spreading-the-love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63