You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't Be A Fool, Drop Out Of School! Advice To Young People On How To Live The Good Life

in #life7 years ago (edited)

As a former high school English teacher I can tell you this: The school day is way too fucking long. The day is wasted away playing meaningless games, having parties in which the kids are fed a bunch of chemicalized junk food, pep assemblies, etc.... because what needs to be accomplished (supposedly)in a day can be done in a couple hours, not 7 or 8 hours. That is a fact. Parents, go follow your child through his/her school day no matter their age. You'll see what I mean.

Then there are those insane standardized test days where the poor kids have to literally sit for hours answering questions in writing. That is torture and should be outlawed.

Kids are kept in school for so long, as in so many hours and so many days and so many years and they're forced to start at such a young age, so that they can be fully brainwashed into thinking everything they see going on around them in society is normal. Like, it's normal to dress like a whore when you're twelve and drink soda with the neurotoxin aspartame in it and eat GMO'd "foods" like Doritos and to bow down to authority by asking permission to go to the bathroom and to get into debt, and that wearing pink clothing cures cancer, etc.... It's so surreal to me now. Back in the day, I didn't know better.

That said, I was the teacher who knew how to get creative with the state-mandated curriculum and my classroom was always the safe haven for the kids who didn't want to worship the damn jocks and cheerleaders at the pep assemblies or the kids who didn't want to eat in the gross cafeteria. There are good teachers out there, but they don't stay teaching for long.

And, people who allow the school to tell them that their child needs to be vaccinated in order to attend are being totally taken advantage of by the pharmaceutical companies. I have no idea why people comply with that one.

Also, almost all parents are using the public education system as a babysitter. Period. They go off to work all day so they can pay taxes to their master while their kids are being "looked after" at school. You would be amazed at how many kids participate in before and after school programs, meaning their parents drop them off before 7 in the morning and pick them up around 6 in the evening. And then they bring them to soccer or whatever practice and eat dinner in the car. It's no life whatsoever.

Now, on a more positive note. Kids today are totally different than we were, Jeff. You and I are about the same age. If their parents would just leave them alone by not forcing them to do a bunch of activities and by not forcing them down a certain path, these kids will manifest wonderful things for themselves. They are different from you and I. I see it. The key is that their parents, the ones who have been entrusted to guide these souls, need to wake up and not make them do what they did and what their parents did because "that's just what you do." The paradigm is changing. I see the institution of school as being gone in the very near future. It's archaic.

Sort:  

That's pretty accurate. Parents don't want to have their kids at home because kids are inconvenient. They want to do shit like talk or play, which isn't all that desirable. Parents know that school is shit and boring and unproductive as we've all been there ourselves. It's not a surprise to them. Everyone knows, just no one cares because the alternative means that parents would be responsible for their children, which means they'll have fewer hours to play Warcraft or watch The Voice.

It's true. I really admire the people who have said enough is enough and are "unschooling." Really, I don't see how typical schools will survive the next 5 years. Like I said, I used to teach and have since done a lot of volunteering, and teachers, administrators and students are burnt out. There's a teacher shortage for a reason.

I'm not surprised the burnout is strong. We're planning on homeschooling ours. I don't believe in the unschooling movement myself simply because to me all that is is developing kids' natural curiosities and hobbies, which parents should be doing anyways.

Absolutely we should be encouraging what our kids find interesting, as in what "they" find interesting. We're the guides on the side. I like unschooling because it is...more free. My kids are teens now and they learn and develop what resonates with them. They both were reading by age four because I read to them from the time they were infants. They didn't need to learn phonetics because they just absorbed the language. My 14 year old son is a way better writer than I am because he likes to write, not because anyone taught him how to write. My daughter is an incredible artist...self taught. She was hired to illustrate a series of childrens' books when she was 16. She's still doing it now. She was just "discovered." She's making money doing what she loves. When I was her age I was assembling burgers for Burger King.

I wasn't "awake" when my kids started school. When I woke up they wanted nothing to do with homeschooling or unschooling or anything like that. My husband and I stay on top of the curriculum, which is the insane Common Core. So, we're constantly pointing out absurdities. Fortunately both of our kids have had several teachers who overtly oppose Common Core. They've had some real decent teachers. But, if I had it to do all over again, I would unschool or home school. I don't like the herd mentality you see in schools and I don't like the propaganda. You're wise that you are going the home-schooling route.

On top of all of this, the time goes by so quickly. There's no need to be sending 5 year olds off to school. Kids should be with their parents, not sent off to some classroom where they will be lost in a sea of other kids.

I understand now, you got Common Core where you are. It's literally annihilating the education system through stupidity. Everyone I know is either putting their kids into private school or pulling them out the moment Common Core infects their school.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71122.86
ETH 3848.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49