Going out without a plan

in #life5 years ago

P_20190509_141923.jpg

Do you ever just go to some random place in your area with just a rough plan and then see what happens from there?

I do this quite often, at least twice a month. If I'm free, I don't usually try to fill my schedule and spend every minute with friends or activities. I'd rather let my inspiration fill up the day.

Sometimes I will pick a certain person or shop I want to go visit, or more likely I'll have 3 or 4 in mind and I'll pick one on the way. Then maybe I'll message a friend or two and say I'm in that area doing this or that and see if they are interested in joining. If not, no problem.

This way of playing can be a bit tricky when everyone is so busy and the city is so big, but I generally have two areas I like to spend my time because people are a bit more free, there are more artists, more going on, but not extre.ely commercial.

I find that when I have high expectations, or any expectations for that matter, the day is usually overwhelming. When I have absolutely none, my day is dynamic and fun and full of happy surprises.

I went to my old neighborhood where I used to live two days ago and just had the idea that i wanted to visit a resteraunt I hadn't been in 6 years. Organic food grown in a farm outside of the city by the community connected to the shop. Good stuff!

P_20190509_131713.jpg

P_20190509_125145.jpg

Turns out the manager is also into eastern medicine and qi and self healing and we are going to meet next week and share some experience and tips. While I was at the shop an old friend who i hadn't seen in just as long, six years, happened to be eating there for the first time in two years. Perfect timing.

I walked down some side streets and ended up talking to some hair stylist because I was interested in the old building her shop was in. I took off my hat and said "sorry no hair" and we chatted for a good 10 minutes about the town. That's not really normal in this city, but if you are friendly and smile it happens sometimes.

I decided to visit the resteraunt I go to most often to pay off a tab i had built up and it turned out they were having a ukelele lesson there. I sat and chatted with the bosses husband for half an hour which was nice because I never got to know him as well as I know his wife.

Then I went out for another wander and this guy down the block was standing on the corner. He nodded at me, once again, not common here. I asked him what he was doing just standing there. He said he just opened a bar and he's usually really free from 7-9 pm. I asked if I could check it out and ordered some Gapao rice. We hit it off right away, and had some very similar experiences which is very unlikely and he shared some really awesome places with me that I'll have to check out. Later his two partners came and it turns out I knew one of them. She ran my favorite 4 seat pub that had the craziest experimental music parties before the area around the station was gentrified. The two guys used to work at a bar run by a street performer who I drank with a few times.

I just want to show you how walking around a place you like with no plans or expectations can turn out. I've gone out to the same place hungry for connection and found nothing, but just wanted to be there and being in the moment enjoying the little things, that's when the magic happens.

Tell me your stories!

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Having an autistic child, I can't not make plans when I go out or bad things happen. Also bad things happen when things don't go according to plan though I can sometimes mitigate that with bribery XD

Glad you had a great day :)

Thank you for sharing this story. It’s amazing to me how acting on basis of inspiration often leads to serendipity. It’s so cool to watch our cities change but gentrification is sickening to me.
Maybe this is why I like to travel so I can have that new experience and not be troubled by what used to be... some of the coolest and most relatable people are out there, either doing what we are doing, or doing what we wish we could be doing.
This post is very valuable, thank you again for sharing:)

Posted using Partiko iOS

hahaha actually the majority of my trips are like this dude.. walking out or biking out and just seeing where I end up!

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.044 which ranks you at #1071 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 15 places in the last three days (old rank 1086).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 158 contributions, your post is ranked at #53.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13