Turning my Life Around and A Revived Interest in Steemit!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

For about a year, I was essentially s full time steemian. I read sometimes upward of fifty posts a day, commenting on almost all of them. I sometimes wrote 3-4 posts a day. I spent hours in the chats.

It was a combination of many factors that led me to eat drink and breathe Steem, some were positive and others negative. If I were to tell anyone just how much time I spent here, they’d probably think I was wasting my life. But I don’t feel that way.

F448FFBB-A114-4FE8-A409-803A2CAB0C10.jpeg

$2000 during the course of a year doesn’t sound like much when you live in a major metropolis, especially considering how much time was spent. But it’s crypto, something I had been hopelessly watching for six years without a means of obtaining any and now I have some. More than that, I found my very first readers and built a community of likeminded people. Some of these people are turning into lifelong friends. We have similar goals and were are working towards them together.

Perhaps the most valuable thing I gained from steemit is the introspection. The ecosystem really tests you when you are so engaged in it. For a serial idealist like myself, it’s so easy to get disappointed. It’s also easy to see limitless potential. You want to do everything you can to help the place maintain an air of dignity but you feel discouraged when it seems everyone is pushing in the other direction. This happened so often. At the same time, I ALWAYS felt some level of support, sometimes only from minnows, but sometimes from powerful steemians as well. And then at times support from a few powerful people wasn’t even enough to really change the direction things were going.

Life will reflect to you what is inside of you, and steemit is a fabulous reflection. There is so much of everything so that if you focus on the negative, you will find every reason to feel worse, and if you focus on the positive you can always find glimmers If hope and inspiration.

A few months ago I decided that I needed to focus more on my 3D life. I found myself waiting for crypto to explode so things could be easier and didn’t want to wait any longer. It’s not that I don’t have faith that Steem will be back to $5 or even that I can’t wait until then, I just don’t want to live life waiting. I want to do everything I can in every moment.

Aside from the positive reasons, part of my motivation for spending so many hours on steemit was that I didn’t have much going for me in my physical life. I was living in a place that had been destroyed by tourism with little potential for change or excitement. I had such a small stream of income that I could barely afford a weekend trip. On top of it all I had to spent 20-30% of my income (and time) on physical therapy and healing back problems that had become ever more complicated by malpractice. And deep in my heart I still felt like a victim. So in many ways steemit was an escape.

So when I realized I didn’t want to escape anymore, I found myself engaging less. Right around the same time Something unexpected happened and I was forced to leave this place that I once loved and now hated. Going somewhere new was exciting but after finally finding a good massage therapist and with little money to survive until I found a job, steemit moved to the bottom of my list of priorities.

No one knows what is a curse and what is a blessing..

There is a chinese idiom 塞翁失马 (sai weng shi ma) which essentially means this. A mans son finds a new horse and thinks it is a blessing. He falls and breaks his leg. He thinks it’s a curse, but due to the broken leg, he does not have to go to fight a war. Something like this. This is my favorite chinese idiom and now I am living it.

Truth be told, it’s been an extremely stressful summer. Most people would have used that unused credit card tucked away in their wallet to buy a plane ticket home to mom and dads house and cast their dreams aside, looking for the best paying job they could find and living life quietly from then on. I am not most people though. I’m using this upheaval as an opportunity to go back to Japan, which was the plan all along, one I had kept putting off because I did not want to work full time. I WILL start working full time again, not because I’ve given up, but because I want to give myself time to grow as an artist while my art slowly becomes sustainable.

My partner is going through a similar struggle-turned-transformation, where she is being forced to make her own decisions and, this time, standing up to the plate. It’s funny, it seems almost everyone I know is in a similar situation, making the most delicious lemonade out of lemons being thrown at their heads.

Being the Sun

When I imagine the person I truly desire to be, I can describe it as “an infinite source of excitement and inspiration”. That person has time and energy to focus on art, work a full time job (for a little while) and to stay active and engaged on steemit. Now that I have my tribe around me and I feel the tides are turning, that life is going to look a lot more like the way I desire it to be, i realize that I am ready to be that person. I’m done being a victim, I’m done getting sucked in to depressing facts and polarized debates and sulky bouts of depression.

I love life, and I have energy to do all the things I want to do, so long gone as my body allows it, and if it doesn’t, I’ll gladly give it the attention it needs. My body will heal too, as soon as it’s ready.

So I’ve decided to get involved in steemit again, to build our Be Awesome community further, to make a stronger connection to @tribesteemup, to share my art more shamelessly, and to support friends and new artists at steemit!

I’m going to try to engage mor and NOT use this engagement as an escape or allow it to monopolize my time. I’ll continue to put time and effort into my work off steemit, into my job, into the people in my daily life, and still make time for steemit. I’ve got plans for a series of language hacks. Deadposts is still running. I will also get back to more heartfelt posting and reading other stories posts.

I’m mostly excited about the people. I don’t anticipate my payout will change much and I’m quite happy with the support I’m receiving from @tribesteemup. What I want is to continue to make friends and stay up to date with the friends I’ve made.

The Be Awesome community

One thing I really want to do is bring in a few new faces (or bring back some old ones) to the Be Awesome discord. If you enjoy my posts, you will love our community. We started a year ago with the intention of making friends without the idea of chatting and making friends without much focus on Steem-centric conversation or gaining followers and upvotes, a place to just make friends. Many a great steemian checks in from time to time, and the there are the regulars like @macchiata, @somethingrandon, @ryivhnn, @vincentnijman, @churdtzu, @guyfawkes4-20, @rasamuel, @j3dy, @inuke, @warpedpoetic, @bobaphett and others. Many a great steemian checks in from time to time, and the there are the regulars like @macchiata, @somethingrandon, @ryivhnn, @vincentnijman, @churdtzu, @guyfawkes4-20, @rasamuel, @j3dy, @inuke, @warpedpoetic, @bobaphett and others. We like to talk about what’s real for us, not much small talk. The core philosophy of Be Awesome is that when one embodies love and unity, their interests become aligned with others and the selfishness vs. selflessness debate becomes a moot point. Oh, and one more thing. The chat is not a place to go for promoting your posts

Join us in the Be Awesome chat

—-

If you like what I do, check out my work at Patreon and consider becoming a Patron (or helping me find more Patrons by sharing this link on social media) so I can put more time and energy into fiction, music and community building. Some extra fiction and music will be over at Patreon and it's all pay-what-you-want. Thanks for any and all support!
If you want to chat, come join us to talk about deep shit in the Be awesome discord (no post promo!)##### If you like what I do, check out my work at Patreon and consider becoming a Patron (or helping me find more Patrons by sharing this link on social media) so I can put more time and energy into fiction, music and community building. Some extra fiction and music will be over at Patreon and it's all pay-what-you-want. Thanks for any and all support!
If you want to chat, come join us to talk about deep shit in the Be awesome discord (no post promo!)
Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Glad you'll be back!

Nom nom nom nom hungry for interaction!

@whatamidoing it is okay to have other things going outside steemit. Don't push yourself too much, just keep at it and I hope it all turns out great for you

I first make sure I have things going on off steemit because I don't want to be glued to the computer. But I'll be working soon and during the commute I will need something to do. I can write my fiction but then I'll probably have time between things at work to steem!

Steemit çummunity is building ideas, make friends, earn extra cash not extra but huge impact to the world by sharing our life experience throught engaging in this community

If we are just awesome enough, the cash will come, we don't even have to think about it, just keep trying to be more awesome!

Welcome back! I can completely identify with everything you wrote--thank you for sharing it!

I love the ideas of Be Awesome community. I am not a big Discord person (prefer to focus my time on Steemit directly), but I will follow and be as active as I can be directly on the posts. Looking forward to sharing experiences with you and all the others from the community. For me, I add one more element to "love and unity": nature. Love and unity with nature, which includes ourselves and all the other beings around us. I truly believe that when we enter into that flow of love and unity with nature, everything else aligns!

That is very true, nature is another element which is necessary to our peace of mind, not to mention our lives. Everything has rhythm and that is also part of nature as well, and yes, trees and mountains and oceans are all following a rhythm that I want to learn from.

nice to see that you have your mojo back.
dont hold your breath waiting for steem to rise. altcoins of all kind are in a free fall and the whole market is consolidating behind bitcoin. i do think that the market does not have a place for than one cryptocurrency.

I don't know about that! I think in the short term yes, but there will be at least one more alt coin breakout and I believe in the end 20-30% of the top 100 will survive and continue to grow. Glad to be back!

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.922 which ranks you at #1098 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 1108).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 434 contributions, your post is ranked at #119.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62875.13
ETH 3030.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67