You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Police Report - The Last of “More on German Curse Words!”

in #life6 years ago

I wonder what the phrase "at night" could really be meant to say. That can't be the actual translation, surely? Are there any German speaking Steemians who could properly translate this? @reinhard-schmid, perhaps?

Come to think of it, steem powered translation services might be a good idea for Steemit.

So this adventure continues - sorry it's still tied up in customs!

Sort:  

This is the translation I cut and pasted straight from Google translator. I have to think that "at night" is maybe a common expression where the background of the term is probably lost to history. I doesn't seem real intuitive to me.

I try to keep too much (English) dual-meaning and coloquial like that out of my comments and posts because I like it when I can do a quick translate to understand other language posts (and so the reverse seems obvious) but sometimes these things just seep through. - a good example: "to pay attention to". I always wondered what that sounds like when literally translated word-for-word to another language.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67128.03
ETH 3788.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74