Simple & Plant-Based

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Ever in the mood for something light and clean tasting but you still want to feel full after? Yes! Obviously! For some reason I think of fresh herbs and lemons, and steamed veggies. I feel like steamed vegetables are easier for me to digest then raw. I did sautee' the almonds in some oil though to give them a toasty touch. The Lima bean tomato dish gets a touch of lemon drizzled on after, you can also add lemon juice to the steamed potatoes too.

The corn gets a simple splash of, you guessed it, lemon juice! And cilantro because I can't resist adding cilantro to corn. Lime juice is extra nice on corn too...sometimes I put both! A bit of red pepper flakes gives it a zip :)

The arugula beet salad is basically just that; beets and arugula! There's a tendency to add cheese, but if you're trying to stick to strictly plant based then adding some toasted and salted nuts or seeds adds a nice touch. I chose sunflower this time but sometimes I use toasted and salted pumpkin seeds too. Nothing wrong with adding some balsamic vinegar on after! Someone gave me a syrupy one to try and I really liked it, even though I don't usually like balsamic vinegar...this one was a bit sweet. And then I cracked some fresh pepper and salt on everything.

I guess I'm officially a grown up, because when I was younger I HATED the taste of beets AND arugula! In fact, when I was a teenager and had my garden I realized too late that arugula tasted like...snails? I ended up neglecting them and never watered them and just hoped they would die; they were fighters! I feel terrible admitting that I purposefully tried to kill off a plant in my garden, but does it count if the thing actually survives? Hmmm, I wonder ;-)

Is there a particular vegetable or food in general that you didn't like when you were a child and then now you like once your palette changed? I'd like to hear about it!

Sort:  

Looks absolutely delicious, and very healthy as well! Great post, thanks for sharing!

Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed the post :-D

Everything looks delicious!

Thanks! Cool name by the way; I like veggies and kitties too :-D

:D

That looks sweet, just vegetables,, thanks for sharing

Thank YOU, and you are welcome :-)

Really yummy looking food! That corn looks awesome!

Incredible. Beautiful. Great job 👏🏼

Thanks!

This post has received a 10.94 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @truth-be-told.

Hi,
Nice to read about you and you posts and views. I am into steemit from august 2017, I am interested in photography and I am also into crypto trading and investing,I have followed you so you can also follow me.
Best Of luck
Teenovision

Nice, good luck to you as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75