Building a Successful, Digital Presence

in #life5 years ago

Image of Digital Presence

Hey Steemians!

Just want to take a minute here and talk about some problems you might be experiencing in building a successful, online digital presence.

First though, I want to let you know that I think every entrepreneur should be constantly learning. Constantly developing his or her mind. When I was a kid, I loved to read. I read everything I could get my hands on. Consequently, I did really well in school and I was ahead of my peers in almost every measurable metric.

(That kind of changed once I discovered that a social life was something I wanted, and I regressed. However, THAT is another story ... and thank God it ended and I came back to some of the founding principles and wisdom I had as a kid.)

Some books that could REALLY help you in your entrepreneurial journey, and that I really recommend are:

  1. Blue Ocean Strategy
  2. The Snowball: Warren Buffet and the Business of Life
  3. Positioning: The Battle for Your Mind
  4. Elon Musk
  5. The CEO Who Sees Around Corners

Now, going back to a successful online presence.

Some people think that's their Facebook account. Well, it can include Facebook ... but we're not really talking about your personal FB timeline. Right? (That CAN be leveraged, but let's talk about that later.)

No, I'm talking about your online digital assets. That's ALL your social media accounts, as well as your company website.

Do you HAVE a website? (If not, dude/dudette ... Get thee to Godaddy.com or another registrar and get yourself a domain!) Seriously, there's a ton of issues there to discuss, and I won't go deep into that either for the moment.

But really, what if you have NO online presence? Think about it. Exactly how are your customers going to find you other than real world, word of mouth? That worked for your grandparents, but depending on the type of business you have, that strategy is either very limited or doesn't work at all in terms of bringing in the bucks.

No online presence (other than your personal FB timeline or Twitter feed, which is basically the same as no online presence in terms of business) means that to the rest of the world, you pretty much are a ghost. You don't exist. Nobody can find you.

And I ask you ... when nobody can find you, how can they purchase your service or product?

Mmmm?

Let's say you have zilch. Nada. No website, no social media profiles, no blog. Nothing. You're starting from scratch.

Your website could take some time, and it pays to get it done right. So no skimping there.

Here's a down and dirty quick win then:

If you're not on Linkedin, go set up an account. Start making connections with your former co-workers and your friends.

Pro-Tip: Don't let your Linkedin profile just be your resume or CV. This is a chance to speak about who you are, what you're bringing to the table, and why it matters. (Take a professional photo of yourself and smile.)

Google will index your profile along with your name.

It's not much. However, it is absolutely ...

Better than nothing.

Now you exist.


I talk about marketing issues and entrepreneurship quite a lot on my Steemit blog at steemit.com/@writeboywrite.

You can also find me and connect at:

Linkedin
https://www.linkedin.com/in/williamblesch/

And my own personal website here:

http://www.williamblesch.com/

Finally, come join an awesome Facebook group designed for Entrepreneurs who want to discuss (and solve) problems and issues faced by business owners, here:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/EntrepreneurSuccessFactor/

Come connect, say hi, and learn more!

This is Will Blesch ...

Out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78