CULTURAL HERITAGE: Folkworks from Nigeria- Morals from Folktales,Folksongs,Riddles and Proverbs

in #life6 years ago

Hello Everyone,
My name is Edwyna and I’m a literature student in a university of my country, Nigeria. Recently, we were asked to search for folkworks in our various languages and I thought why not share to fellow steemians, so they can benefit from these moralistic works.
PhotoGrid_1521019187200.jpg

Folkworks consists of folktales and folksongs that are not written and past by word of mouth to generations. In Nigeria, we take pleasure in our traditional works and the folktales and folksongs play big roles in the life of the individuals that listen to it. As I said, it is unwritten, as it is its uniqueness---for it is much better listening to an older person who is not the folk author but just a narrator who can add his spice to the story or songs through sound effects and sorts for emphasis.

The best thing about these folk works is that they are set to teach moral lessons so when reading them, you have to open your mind to different possibilities and know they are fictional works.

As I have said, it is told by a narrator to an eager audience mostly at night and moonlight gatherings. I am proud to share part of my cultural heritage with you.

I will be starting the series soon, so stick around to learn from the wisdom of our elders.

Enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68140.96
ETH 3135.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70