You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Motivation] Sell Your Dreams

in #life6 years ago

Hi, Surgo. Excellent advice.

Another motivational gimmick I've done in the past is -- and this is somewhat morbid -- write my own obituary.

When you're dead and gone, how will you like to be seen? How would you like the world to remember you? I've actually done this, for a class, a few years ago. It was an eye-opening experience of self-introspection!

Sort:  

Interesting idea. This actually sounds very similar to Jordan Peterson's Self-Authoring program, where you write your own biography as a form of self-therapy.

What results did you have with the obituary?

Short-term, very successful. I launched a product (a card game) back in 2003, and I wrote the obituary a few months before that in a university class.

I was advised to "periodically update" the obituary, but I haven't done that since. I'm sure it would be much different now! [*] My hobbies and interests have definitely changed, and I'm nowhere near the goal that I gave myself in that obituary. But it was certainly a great launching point.

[* Being a parent moved some of my priorities around. ;-) ]

I can imagine. My world turned around when I got married. I went from magician (the ritual kind)/ occultist/ hypnotherapist to marketer and husband within months, and honestly, I just feel so much better with it.

Who would have guessed I'd be in the profession I despised the most in my teens?

Ahhh, thanks for sharing your occupation with me. That makes sense to me now. I downloaded your PDF book about hypnosis! That made me very curious about your background, and I wondered where our interests intersected. I've been looking into stage hypnosis as an add-on to my act, and your book is a good introduction! Thanks...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68652.07
ETH 3861.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70