Adios Argentina, Hallo Norway!

in #life6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-08-10 at 2.50.34 AM.png

What a weird feeling! It's been an amazing few months, and while I'm sad to say goodbye to the place I've called home for the last four months, I am also excited for the next chapter in my unfolding adventure. As many of my followers already know, I'm originally from New Orleans, but I have spent the last several months living in Buenos Aires. When I left New Orleans, I had no plans to go anywhere else but Argentina. On one hand, I was a writer struggling horribly with writer's block, and I felt like going to the home of some of my favorite writers (Borges, Cortazar, Ocampo, Arlt, etc) would be a way of snapping out of my funk and forcing myself into finding some sort of inspiration. On the other hand, I was just genuinely bored with my life, and I was ready for something new, some sort of adventure.

To my surprise and satisfaction, Buenos Aires has been a success on both fronts. After a chance encounter with @sponge-bob (at a basketball court of all places!) he talked me into giving Steemit a try, and I'm glad that I did! The effort to produce quality content has been a way for me to force myself to write. I have done a couple of multi-part short stories, making them up as I go along, and I've been pushed on by the fact that they're publicly viewable-- all my followers would know if I simply gave up and moved on. This, combined with the inspiration I've found in such an intricate and interesting city, has been more than enough to snap me out of my writer's block.

Screen Shot 2018-08-10 at 2.49.08 AM.png

But not only have I made progress with my writing, I've also made tons of friends whom I will never forget and I've had experiences that only a few months ago I would never have imagined would be possible for me. One of those was meeting a wise, beautiful, and nature-loving Norwegian girl named Shirin, and now my adventure continues in a new direction as I head off to meet her in her hometown of Stavanger Norway.

The only hitch so far was at the airport, when I was told that I had-- between my checked bag and two carry-on bags-- 19 kilos too much weight! It was outrageously expensive to consider checking a second bag or paying for the additional weight fees, so I started taking out everything I was willing to part with, a list which grew longer and longer as I realized how much weight I really needed to get rid of. Fortunately, none of my stuff went to waste, as the other passengers in the check-in line were more than happy to take some free goods! In the end, I gave away sixteen books (all but one!), seven vinyl records, a liter of vodka, two pairs of pants, a sweater, three t-shirts, and a basketball pump. I'm a bit of a hoarder, so it was incredibly difficult to part with my old books and old t-shirts, but after I did it I felt better. I'm learning to leave the past behind me and look forward to the future... Adios Argentina, Hallo Norway!

Sort:  

Hey @youdontsay! It was great to be able to have one final lunch with you at Emviar, my old haunt. Best of luck with TSA agents of the world and food anomalies in Vietnam.

I am always available to bound ideas around with you. Keep in touch.

A pleasure to have known you! come back soon.

@youdontsay, a pleasure to have met you despite what little we have agreed. It makes me happy that in some way this adventure in Buenos Aires has been very productive.
It is a chapter that culminates, there we are impregnated many characters. Another begins to be surely written new characters and new stories. I wish you the best of successes, and continue discovering this so mysterious to what we call life. Regards!!!

Que bueno que esta aventura en Buenos Aires ha sido positiva e inspiradora, te deseo éxitos en tu próxima aventura.

It is good to see that you have done so many things thanks to Steemit and that they have helped your inspiration at the time of writing. It is incredible to see that you have been able to travel through Argentina in search of new experiences, for me it would be an unattainable pleasure to arrive in Argentina. Someday I will visit.

I wish you an excellent trip and sad what you had to do with your luggage! Did the extra weight cost so much?

Realizar ese tipo de viajes es una gran decisión, feliz viaje y muchos exitos!!!

Wow. That's great, man. Best of luck in this new adventure. The transition, including the giving away of extra weight works wonderfully into this page turning kind of life episode.
I am sure Norway will provide amazing sources for new and even better stories. Hope to follow you along and vicariously enjoy that wonderful land and culture.
Wish you the best in that relationship.

Asi es amigo siempre con la vista puesta hacia adelante, espero hayas disfrutado tu estadia en Buenos Aires y desarte un feliz viaje a Noruega y de seguro seguiras aprendiendo de la vida. Saludos @youdontsay y espero puedas volver pronto a Sudámerica y en especial a nuestro pais Venezuela

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Excellent article. I really liked it. Good luck to you and Love.

Отличная статья. Мне очень понравилось. Удачи Вам и Любви

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94